Rebooting GTD… again

Canyon R
CanyonR
2 min readNov 28, 2016

--

One thing all GTD (Getting things done) adherents know is that it’s a living system, until it’s a dead system. This death doesn’t happen quickly, or obviously. There is no glory or gore to accompany it’s demise. You just look around and realize you are yet again drowning in, as David Allen says, “incomplete lists of unclear stuff”. Your capacity to collect has disconnected from your desire to decide and your ability to organize. What most GTDers can agree on is why it died. The cause is almost always the same, abandoning the weekly review.

This is an egregious cause because it undoubtedly comes from a time of great activity and stress, exactly when we need our trusted systems the most. Yet somehow the pillar of the GTD method is the first part to crumble and invariably drags the rest of the system down with it. Somehow we still, with reckless abandon, discard this foundation upon which all of our other work rests… or maybe that’s just me.

So I am indulging in the regular ritual of “Rebooting” my GTD system yet again. As is customary, this includes the discarding of old tools, apps, techniques, and assumptions for new… tools, apps, techniques and assumptions. Each time it’s accompanied with a renewed promise to commit to the weekly review. Maybe if I adjust that ever so easily skipped block on my calendar. Thursday afternoon not working, let’s try Monday. And, if the flood of work abates and the stars align, come Monday afternoon that review will happen.

This time, however, I will bring you with me. Documenting and diagramming the process, the rebirth, of a GTD system. Hopefully this will help you feel empowered to engage with, or learn about for the first time, GTD yourself. I’ll be talking about my own system as it redevelops, as well as linking to the videos, articles, and other resources that are helping keep me on track. I’m also revising and will be reposting my series on the GTD system itself for those unfamiliar with it or looking for a new view on the methodology. There is, of course, no substitute for the primary source and so you should go and read the newly updated Getting Things Done, by David Allen.

I look forward to taking this trip with you and hopefully we will both find the promise of “Stress free productivity” along the way.

--

--

Canyon R
CanyonR
Editor for

I’m an IT Professional with 25 years on the front lines of operations and support. I’m a tech geek, wayward gamer, and avid fan of Celtic Folk music.