Q&A with Sabina Ibrahimova: The champion who launched a new era for women’s chess in Azerbaijan

Günel İlqar
CAPA TEAM
Published in
3 min readOct 1, 2019

Sabina Ibrahimova has held the title of Azerbaijan chess champion seven times. But her proudest moment was in 2005 when she brought home Azerbaijan’s first international women’s chess title in 12 years. The 24-year-old from Ganja is now a teacher at ASAPES, after gaining both undergraduate and Master’s diplomas at the Sport Academy.

Sabina Ibrahimova, left, explains her passion for chess to ASAPES student journalist Gunel Ilqar

What are your greatest achievements?

SI: I am proud to be an international chess Master. I am seven times the champion of Azerbaijan and have won world and European championship medals. In 2005, I brought home the first international medal for women since 1993. I felt I had opened a door for women’s chess in my home country.

Who would you most like to compete against?

SI: I would like to compete with the world chess champion Magnus Carlsen. He is Norwegian and simply the best. I don’t think I could hope for a win against him, but a draw would be just fine.

How did you become interested in chess?

SI: My mother is also a chess player and she inspired my love of the game. She was one of the best chess players of her time and is now a chess teacher.

Who do you think is better … your mum or you?

SI: Although I am stronger now than my mother in chess, I can’t say I am a better player than her. Her experience is far more extensive and richer than mine.

Does everyone in your family play chess?

SI: I have three younger sisters and while they all play chess as a hobby, their education lies in a different direction.

How do you describe chess as a sport?

I think of it as brain art. Because, unlike other sports, you move with the power of the brain. Patience, restraint and attention also play a special role. One of the most interesting things about a chess match is that we cannot express our feelings when we win. This is a silent sport and when you win, you say nothing.

Sabina Ibrahimova in action. Her goal is to become a chess Grandmaster

How do you assess the status of chess in Azerbaijan?

SI: Our generation is well educated. With more support for chess, there are many young people who could become excellent players.

What are your hobbies?

SI: I like literature. Dan Brown, and I love Khalid Huseyin. I also love visual animation.

What is your greatest goal for the future?

SI: My goals are all focused on chess. Most importantly, I’m determined to become a Grandmaster.

--

--