Q&A with Eltaj Nurullayeva: My goal is to become a world-famous athletics coach

Sadagat Abasova
CAPA TEAM
Published in
2 min readOct 1, 2019

Eltaj Nurullayeva became Azerbaijan’s champion 100m sprinter in 2017. The 22-year-old student from Khachmaz is now in the third year of her studies at ASAPES and plans to become a professional coach after graduation.

Eltaj Nurullayeva has already begun her coaching career while studying at ASAPES

What have you achieved as a sprinter?

I’ve been competing in athletics since I was 12 years old and have won many races. The highlight of my career so far was winning a gold medal in the Republican Championship and silver in the Republican Cup.

What about your family?

EN: My father is a cameraman, my mother is a chef. My brother studies in Turkey. My sister is married.

What do you plan to do after graduation?

EN: I am planning to work as a coach after graduation and hope to become internationally recognised. I am very happy that athletics is very popular in Azerbaijan and it is great that so many girls want to become part of it.

Have you already begun your coaching career?

EN: Yes. At first I started to work with Xasan Xasanov. Then after coming to Baku I started to work with Elshan Behbudov.

How would your friends describe you?

EN: It is a little difficult to talk about myself, but in general I am not a very talkative person. I do not like jokes. Despite this my friends trust me and always come to me for advice.

Visit Eltaj’s Instagram profile: atletic-sport

Sadagat Abasova, left, tells ASAPES student journalist Eltaj Nurullayeva of her future plans

--

--