Q&A with Fatali Talibov: I’ll become UFC champion and nothing will stop me

Fərid Axundov
CAPA TEAM
Published in
3 min readOct 1, 2019

ASAPES student Fatali Talibov Mirkasym started training in MMA at the age of six at a fighting club near him home in Baku. But it was meeting coach Farhad Poladov when he was 11 years old that changed his life and gave him only ambition … to become UFC champion.

Fatali Talibov: ‘My dream is to become a UFC fighter. I’ll be the best’

What first attracted you to MMA?

FT: I always felt like martial arts was my home. I like to fight. Thanks to my teacher, Farhad Poladov, I grew to love this sport. Unfortunately, Farhad Poladov dis no longer alive, but I will honour him by making my name in this sport.

Some people say that MMA is not a real sport. What do you think about it?

FT: MMA is just a different kind of fighting. It is a sport, but for me a special sport. We’re not wild.

UFC has become more popular recently because of the McGregor-Habib fights. Is this your view?

FT: Our country was already interested in this sport before McGregor and Habib, and the interest has grown steadily. In the future, I believe we will have more competitors in this type of sport. And I am determined to be at the top.

Most people in sport don’t succeed. Do you ever think you might fail?

FT: I never think about it. My intention is to fight and win. Everything I do has just one objective … to reach the top of my sport.

Who is your hero?

FT: My teacher Farhad Poladov will always be my hero. I always learned from him. I remember his lessons and they are always with me. Perhaps Farhad is no longer with me physically, but he will always be beside me.

What do you think about the quality of the new arenas in Baku?

FT: It gives me hope for the future. We needed a stronger, modern environment to help take our sport to the next level. At the moment, the state’s support for MMA is enormous and that will lead to Azerbaijani fighters competing in the UFC. Our fighters are now competing at a lower level, but we will fight in the UFC for sure.

There are many MMA styles. Some fighters are strong in leg bumps and hand kicks. What’s your strength?

FT: Each athlete has his or her own style. I don’t have any particular style. I’m trying to fight mixed. Because I am a little tall, I have to fight close to an opponent, a little like wrestling. But the aim is always the same … to win.

UFC star Habib Nurmahammadov is accused of using wrestling tricks. What’s your view?

FT: For me, the important thing is to get out there and win. How you do it is not so important. My goal is to be better than Habib.

--

--