Q&A: Why judo is a family affair for Azerbaijan champion Muhammad Nuri

Nagiyeva Aydan
CAPA TEAM
Published in
4 min readOct 1, 2019

Nuri Muhammad started to train in judo when he was just five years, inspired by his father and grandfather, who were both coaches in the sport. The 17-year-old ASAPES student has already has won medals at both the European and World Championships. Now he has his sights set on the Olympics.

Muhammad Nuri, right, being interviewed by ASAPES student journalist Aydan Nagiyeva

How important is your family?

NM: We are a judo family, my father, mother, sister and me. My father fought in the Karabakh war and both he and my grandfather are judo teachers. My uncle is also a judoka. However, my sister is taking a different direction … she wants to be a judge.

If you had a chance to change your profession, would you?

NM: No, never. I have been around judo and part of judo my entire life. I have tried other sports such as kickboxing and was Azerbaijan kickboxing champion twice. I’ve tried other fighting sports too. I judo is in my heart I believe I have a special talent for judo.

Have you won many competitions?

NM: Many. I won a silver medal at the European Championships and bronze at the World Championships. In addition, I have twice become Azerbaijan champion.

Why did you choose to study tourism at the sport academy?

NM: To be honest, I am not sure. My family said that if I choose only judo, I will be able to work only as a judo trainer, but with a qualification in tourism, I can always find work. My real passion is judo and I work as a trainer with my father.

Where do you see yourself in five years’ time?

NM: I want to be an Olympic champion and be involved in judo until I grow old.

What do you do apart from judo?

NM: Nothing really. I don’t have any other hobbies. I’ve been training in judo since I was five years old and training twice a day. That’s what happens every day and I don’t have time for other hobbies. But I do play football at the weekend with my groupmates.

Who is your judo role model?

NM: My hero is Mari Yanna from Japan. His technique is very similar to mine. I watch his fights, tricks and I can see a reflection of my own style. There is an Azerbaijani judoka called Rustem Orucov who I also admire, but Mari Yanna is the number one for me.

What would you like to change in Judo?

NM: The rules have changed recently in Judo. They are harder now. Before the change, you could use your legs in fights, but now we can only fight above the waistband. I would like to bring back the leg rule. I was accustomed to fight with my legs since my childhood, and I wasn’t able to achieve success for three years after they changed the rule.

What is your opinion about women competing in judo?

NM: I think there are a lot of good female judokas. But in my opinion, women should not compete in judo. For me, women are more suited to gymnastics or sports like that, but not fighting.

Which country was the best and worst you have visited?

NM: I have been to many countries. All the European countries I have visited are beautiful, but I think Budapest was the best. I really liked it. The people were so friendly and my training and matches went very smoothly. I did not want to come back and would love to go again. I think the worst country was Russia. I felt the people hated us and I didn’t feel welcome in Moscow. Russia is fine as a country, but not the people.

Who would you like to fight?

NM: I would like to fight with Mari Yanna. He fights in the same weight category as me, but he is older than me. While I fight with teenagers, he fights with older people. I think I will be able to fight him in the next three to five years.

Do you pray before your matches?

NM: I am a Muslim and have performed Namaz since I was five. Before the fight, I pray to Allah to bring me good fortune. After winning my fights, I give thanks.

If you had a chance to go to live abroad, would you go?

NM: No, I love my country. I would never go anywhere outside Azerbaijan to live or to study. Everything is good here for me. I will always do everything to protect and promote my country.

What makes a person successful?

NM: The most important thing is to have a goal. If someone does not have a goal, they will not be able to gain anything. You have to work for your goal until it is reached. If you sit and wait for success, it will never come.

--

--