Maureen Acero

Legislative Aide, Rep. Betty McCollum (MN-04)

CAPASA
CAPASA 2019 APAHM Staff Spotlights
1 min readMay 21, 2019

--

Why do you think it is important for AAPI’s to be involved in public service?

The AAPI community itself is so diverse and being involved in public service ensures that our interests are adequately represented. Besides, staying on the sidelines is never fun :)

Name one person you look up to and explain why.

My cousin Jamie has definitely been one of the most influential people in my life. As someone who struggles with her mental health, she has always been able to persevere while treating others well. Because she has taught me the art of perseverance, is reason why I haven’t gotten tired of Capitol Hill (yet…….jk I’m here forever).

Please share one piece of advice or a hope that you have for the future of Asian America.

I hope that Asian Americans continue to be more open about teaching others about their culture/backgrounds and vice versa. We will never be an inclusive America if we do not have this as a foundation.

Lastly, what is your favorite or go-to comfort food and why?

I’d have to say tamales because there are so many ways to make them. My PR for tamales eaten in one sitting is 12.

--

--

CAPASA
CAPASA 2019 APAHM Staff Spotlights

The Congressional Asian Pacific American Staff Association (CAPASA) is a non-partisan congressional staff association that supports a pipeline of AAPI staffers.