Naomi Zeigler

Staff Assistant, Sen. Kirsten Gillibrand (NY)

CAPASA
CAPASA 2019 APAHM Staff Spotlights
2 min readMay 16, 2019

--

Why do you think it is important for AAPI’s to be involved in public service?

Although the AAPI community is the fastest growing racial minority group in the country, AAPIs are underrepresented in the public sector. Harmful stereotypes like the “model minority” myth have created a false generalization of what it means to be an AAPI. Our community is not monolithic and we need public servants who can represent the diversity of our experiences. Issues like immigration, education, labor, healthcare, and technology are at the forefront of our national political conversation. Each of these issues impacts the AAPI community in unique ways. Our voices belong at the table. AAPI representation matters and paves the way for continued engagement and activism.

Name one person you look up to and explain why.

Professor Lily Wong was my senior thesis adviser and one of the only AAPI professors I had during my college career. Not only is Professor Wong a leading scholar on media formations of transpacific Chinese, Sinophone, and Asian American communities, she is also a brilliant and patient educator. Working with her on my thesis was a unique and rewarding experience that led to my passion for technology. Her guidance challenged me to critically assess my viewpoints on race, inequality, and power. Professor Wong showed me that now more than ever, it is important to have educators from diverse backgrounds on college campuses and it is through her example that I see education as its own form of activism.

Please share one piece of advice or a hope that you have for the future of Asian America.

Activist Grace Lee Boggs once said, “you don’t choose the times you live in, but you do choose who you want to be.” It is through our individual actions that we make a better world. Choose to be kind, choose to be patient, choose to educate. I believe we have the capacity for so much good!

Lastly, what is your favorite or go-to comfort food and why?

Mac and cheese has always been a staple. I liked it so much as a kid that my mom used to wake up early to make it for me for breakfast.

--

--

CAPASA
CAPASA 2019 APAHM Staff Spotlights

The Congressional Asian Pacific American Staff Association (CAPASA) is a non-partisan congressional staff association that supports a pipeline of AAPI staffers.