What we are looking forward to at Extreme 365 — Dubrovnik

Ben "The Hosk" Hosking
Capgemini Microsoft Blog
5 min readMar 15, 2018

The Capgemini Dynamics team believe it’s important not only to keep up to date with changes in the Microsoft Dynamics industry but to be aware of any big changes coming in the future. A great way to keep up to date is to attend Extreme 365.

The following people from our UK team are going to Extreme 365 in Dubrovnik at the end of March; this post will look into what each person hopes to get out of the event.

Ben Hosking

I’ve been with Capgemini for two years. I am a certified Dynamics CRM Solution Architect and certified Scrum Master with over 7 years of Microsoft Dynamics 365 experience using Dynamics CRM versions 4/2011/2013/2015/2016/365, and over 14 years of development experience.

I’m enjoying working for Capgemini and bringing the best software engineering practices to Microsoft Dynamics 365, as well as incorporating DevOps into enterprise projects.

What I know about Extreme 365

I attended Extreme 365 2017 in Lisbon; I had a great time and learnt a lot about Microsoft Dynamics 365. It’s a big event with the presentations to interest different skills and experience. Extreme is one of the bigger Dynamics events and you get to meet lots of people who are passionate about Microsoft Dynamics 365.

This post I wrote for last year has a good summary of what to expect at Extreme 365:

What is Extreme 365 — Lisbon 2017?

Other posts from last year

· Hosk Extreme 365–2017 Adventure in pictures

· Extreme 365–2017 Day 1 in pictures

· Extreme 365 — Hosk notes on ClickDimension advanced partner training

What I’m looking forward to

The highlight is watching and learning about Microsoft’s Roadmap for Dynamics 365; it helps you prepare for the year ahead and understand what areas you need to focus your learning on.

The presentations on AI, cognitive services and bots really interest me because this demonstrates the evolution of Microsoft Dynamics projects to integrate intelligence with Microsoft Dynamics.

What I hope to get out of the event

I hope to understand the Dynamics roadmap better, as well as Azure services integration with Microsoft Dynamics. It will be good to get know members of the team better.

Max Ewing

I’ve been with Capgemini for five and a half years. I began my career working primarily with .NET before gradually shifting into the Dynamics CRM/365 space. I’m currently the lead developer on a Dynamics 365 delivery that is utilising Dynamics 365 Portals and integrating with the client’s legacy system via Azure Service Bus. I enjoy solving complex problems on the Dynamics 365 platform and have a keen interest in how development processes can be improved.

What I know about Extreme 365

This will be my first Extreme 365 conference — I’m aware however that it is one of the biggest events of the year for Dynamics 365 partners and customers.

What I’m looking forward to

I’m most looking forward to the technical sessions in particular; especially those relating to the changes that came in v9, the platform roadmap and DevOps.

What I hope to get out of the event

I’m hoping to gain a better understanding of what new features are in the pipeline for developers. I’d also like to find out what innovative ideas others have come up with when delivering solutions using the Dynamics 365 platform.

Luke Benting

I am a .NET and Dynamics 365 Software Engineer Lead working at Capgemini for over 5 years. I am currently leading the development of a Dynamics 365 On Premise system for a client in the defence sector. I have a background in .NET development, but moved my focus onto Microsoft Dynamics around 3 years ago. Away from work I enjoy driving and travelling.

What I know about Extreme 365

This will be my first time attending Extreme, and I’m particularly looking forward to any announcements on the direction of the platform, and also meeting and sharing knowledge with colleagues from around the world.

What I hope to get out of the event

Over the last couple of years, our team has focussed on developing a shared DevOps process for our Dynamics projects, so I’m glad to see DevOps is the topic of a few sessions in the agenda;, as I’m interested to hear what other partners and colleagues are doing in this space.

Federico Jousset

I’m Federico and I work as a Technical Leader here at Capgemini. Originally from Argentina, I moved to the UK with my wife almost a year ago from Ireland to join the team, seduced by our CI framework and software engineering best practices.

What I know about Extreme 365

Some of the team attended last year in Lisbon. I know it’s a big event with a mix of presentations, so there should be something for all different Dynamics professionals.

What I hope to get out of the event

This is going to be my first Extreme 365 conference; I’m expecting to get some first-hand information about the Dynamics 365 CE Roadmap, participate in some technical sessions about DevOps and CI, get training on products we’ll be using in the near future (such as Adobe Marketing) and connect with other D365 professionals, especially our colleagues from the Capgemini global team.

picture on top by Capgemini’s Tom Ashworth

--

--

Ben "The Hosk" Hosking
Capgemini Microsoft Blog

Technology philosopher | Software dev → Solution architect | Avid reader | Life long learner