Book Announcement!

SUMMONED: Book one in ‘The Demon Summoner’ series.

Mckayla Eaton
CAPITAL LETTERS
3 min readMay 21, 2019

--

Today I have an announcement I am so excited to share with you. My debut novel, ‘Summoned’, is being published September 3rd 2019 by Parliament House Press.

Being my first published book this is a new and thrilling experience for me, one I’ll be writing about more in depth in the next few months leading up to the release date.

Not including the actual writing of the book, by publication journey started with #Pitmad, a query request, manuscript request, and finally, a contract. Since signing that contract I’ve already learned a lot (mostly through trial and error) about marketing myself as an author, building a following, and what it means to be a apart of the online writing community that exists throughout the web and social media.

For the first time I had someone content edit and line edit my manuscript and I’ve discussed cover concepts and seen my words slowly come together into a real novel.

This journey has not only been a totally new experience for me but I can honestly say it is an experience I had not expected to be going through so soon in my career as an author. Scary? Yes. Worth every moment? Positively.

‘Summoned’ is book one in The Demon Summoner series and it was so much fun to write! The cover concept was based on grimoires and magic texts which play a big part in the plot.

The book is now available for pre-order and you can also find it on GoodReads to add to your to-be-read.

On an empty baseball diamond in a quiet Toronto suburb, a demon has been summoned. 

Seventeen-year-old Alton is miles away, just wishing he had a tutor he didn’t outsmart or outmatch. His prayers are answered when Professor Victor Orvius makes an unexpected visit, offering to teach Alton magic without the restrictions. The only condition is that he follow Orvius’ rules and not ask too many questions.
Alton soon discovers he’s not Orvius’ only student. Reagan is a competitive young witch with a bad attitude and talent for sarcasm. Their personalities clash, causing trouble for both on more than one occasion, until they realize a greater threat than being one-upped.

The demon threatens not only their chances at passing their magic finals—it threatens their lives. If Alton and Reagan can’t learn to get along, they could be facing their deaths…or an eternity together, trapped in another realm.

--

--

Mckayla Eaton
CAPITAL LETTERS

Canadian Fantasy Author. Passionate about story telling and teaching the craft of writing to new writers. linktr.ee/mckaylaeaton