I Set A Social Media Timer On My Phone & It Ruined My Life

Dana McGlone
Capitol Letters
2 min readNov 14, 2018

--

October 22, 2018 — the day it all came crashing down.

I always thought I was an average social media user. I never posted more than once every two weeks on Instagram, stuck to sharing cute dog videos and big life updates on Facebook, and thoughtfully crafted one tweet per week.

I was wrong, and Apple so cruelly set me straight. On average, I spent 4 hours on social media EVERY DAY.

I couldn’t believe it. I’ve read preachy articles and listened to baby boomers discuss how us millennials were “glued to our phones” and shook it off, because I knew, if I needed to I could be without my phone, social media included.

So, I decided to commit to the challenge Apple made so easy for me. Limit my social media time to two hours each day. That may still seem like a lot, but remember, I was an addict, spending one-sixth of my day scrolling through newsfeeds jammed with celebrities and sprinkled with people I actually know.

The first two days, I learned a lot about myself. Every time I would pick up my phone I opened a social media app out of habit, even if that wasn’t the purpose of picking up my phone.

I would finish sending a text, hit the home button, and immediately load Twitter. It was a vicious cycle I was determined to break before it broke me.

There were a few days where I was able to succeed (I say that with emphasis on the word few). But, more often than not I’d find myself clicking “ Remind me in 15 minutes” when the shameful hourglass notified me.

Just now I took a break from writing this and opened Twitter instinctually. I have become hyper aware of my dependence to social networking and realize I need help. However, that has not stopped me.

I have reverted back to my old ways. I have broken down. I have turned off the timer.

I am spending more time than ever on social media JUST BECAUSE I CAN. I am spiraling, I am finding myself liking everyone’s photos on Instagram and I haven’t even had a single glass of wine.

I am seeking help. If you or someone you know has been diagnosed with an enthusiasm for social media, please, I beg of you, have them follow me on Twitter and Instagram — @danamcg25

--

--