The Great Mestre Joel

Vou me embora pra Bahia

Professor Zumbi
Capoeira Wellness
Published in
2 min readFeb 11, 2019

--

One of my favorite singers in the Capoeira world is Mestre Joel. After a long hiatus, this morning we finally resumed our music classes and my goal was to present yet another one of his ladainhas to my students.

My dream did not come true. I got stuck on teaching my good student how to hold and play the pandeiro. Yes… Teaching is a challenge. Anyway, it was a great experience to finally research lyrics for my students again. The ladainha I wanted to teach starts: Vou me embora pra Bahia. You can find the lyrics below.

Music classes are special occasions for sharing wisdom and knowledge. I am eternally grateful to Mestre Xango. He always took the time to teach me how to sing songs and play the instruments. Of course, it was Mestre Xango that introduced me to this lovely litany —

Mestre Joel

Mestre Joel is an old Capoeira master that is always invited to events because of his vocals. He is the author of this ladainha and he sings it with tremendous passion. The lyrics below are transcribed from his epic roda with the late great Mestre Ananias.

Ieee!
Vou me embora pra Bahia, o lê lê
Vou me embora pra Bahia
Vou ver dinheiro corre
Se dinheiro não correr
De fome ninguém morre

Eu nasci naquela terra
Em na terra me criei
O que terra hospitaleira
Nessa terra morrerou

Minha mae ta me chamando
O que vida de mulher
Quem bate pandeiro é homem
Bate palma é mulher
La no céu tinha três estrelas
Todas três em carreirinha
Uma é minha, outra tua,
É a outra fica sozinha

Louvação
Ie viva meu mestre…

Meaning

I am going to Bahia. Yup… I am going to Bahia. I am going to see money spent lavishly. Nobody’s hungry when money’s spent lavishly.

I was born in Bahia. I was raised there. What a hospitable place. Verily, I wish to die there.

My mom’s calling me… What an amazing woman. Men play tambourines, women clap hands. In heaven there are three stars. All three in alignment. One is mine, the other is yours, and the last one stays alone.

Footnote: Bahia is the former colonial capital of Brazil located in the north eastern part of country. It is supposedly where all the Black people are, but it is actually the epicenter of African culture in the Americas. Bahia is the home of Brazilian Capoeira.

--

--

Professor Zumbi
Capoeira Wellness

capoeira wellness practitioner and @capoeirastudio founder & principal teacher