Mestre Xangô talking to Mestre Chicote

Vou Pro Mata Pegar Madeira Boa

Professor Zumbi
Capoeira Wellness
Published in
2 min readApr 23, 2019

--

Yesterday I returned from my first visit to Vladivostok, Russia. It was a really great honor to be invited there to teach at the Capoeira Existência event alongside two great teachers from the Cordão de Our Capoeira group in Sao Paulo. Professor Well and Professor Manchinha kicked off the event singing some delightful Capoeira tunes.

Thanks to Mestre Xangô, the leader of the Cordão de Ouro Capoeira group in Oakland, I was prepared when Professor Well turned to me and asked me to add to the axé. He taught me the lyrics and the melody to Vou Pro Mata Pegar Madeira Boa just a week before when I was in California.

That was the song I chose to sing first at the event. You can find the lyrics below. The first refrain has an invigorating staccato.

Vou Pro Mata Pegar Madeira Boa
Vou pro mata pegar madeira boa, êêêê..
Vou pro mata pegar madeira boa
Pra tocar meu berimbau (2X)
Pra roda ficar legal (2X)
Como mestre me ensinou

Lálálá lálá lauê (2X)

Como mestre me ensinou

Lálálá lálá lauê (2X)

Author Unknown

Meaning

I am going to the jungle to get some wood. It’s gonna be good wood to make my berimbau. With it, I will make lively Capoeira rodas. Just like my mestre taught me.

--

--

Professor Zumbi
Capoeira Wellness

capoeira wellness practitioner and @capoeirastudio founder & principal teacher