Dear Doctor: Allison Santhouse

Steph Goldberg
Hello, Dear - the Capsule Blog
6 min readFeb 28, 2018

The dermatology physician associate with a focus on holistic treatment

Allison Santhouse, a physician associate at Schweiger Dermatology has been practicing medical and cosmetic dermatology for over ten years, with a focus on keeping up with the newest procedures and techniques. In fact, on the day we met at the Schweiger office in Midtown, we observed her perform a procedure with a new semi-permanent filler that touts longer-lasting results and requires increased precision. It was apparent how much she loves her profession by watching her hyper-focused on her technique to delicately sculpt the patient’s features all with a fun, laid-back approach which put her patient at ease.

Santhouse has a particular interest in holistic medicine, and her work focuses on a variety of treatments, from allergy testing to laser therapy and vampire facials for acne scars. Check out her favorite supplements, treatments, and vegan products below!

I’ve been interested in science and medicine since high school, and had a side hobby as an artist. My particular interest has been in aesthetics and beauty, and using creativity and my hands to make patients happy. I pursued a specialty track in dermatology while in PA school at Weill Cornell, and was hooked on the incredible procedures and treatments that had the power to be transformative, from eradicating acne scars to finding and treating skin cancers. To practice dermatology one has to be very visual so I knew this was my calling from day one. I like that I get to see patients who want to improve their skin and I have the tools to help them. I also love that I am able to help prevent skin cancer and make a real difference in patients’ lives.

Dermatology Through a Holistic Lens

I’m big into holistic medicine and take the time to counsel my patients through the lens of diet and the natural realm. I believe in taking a blended, well-rounded approach to medicine and helping patients amend their lifestyle to make positive changes that will affect their skin. For example, I’ll discuss diet changes with patients, like cutting out sugar and dairy to treat inflammation and adding supplements like fish oil and probiotics. I also frequently recommend zinc, which some studies show can even be used as a first line of treatment for some types of acne. One of my specialties is skin allergies. I perform many allergy patch tests, and am constantly researching and on a mission to find natural, eco-friendly, and chemical-free products for the home and skin.

I love researching new ingredients and finding natural and organic alternatives to products with lots of chemicals. I love Waxelene Botanical Jelly as an alternative to petroleum-based Aquaphor ointment for sensitive patients. I also love the sensitive line by Annemarie Bӧrlind for my acne and anti-aging patients since it is very hydrating and won’t cause breakouts. Another one of my favorites is California Baby for kids, and as a mom of three fair-skinned girls, I’ve gone through lots! Shikai Borage Therapy Lotion for kids is another incredible lotion that can be used for children and adults with eczema or for anyone with winter dryness. Borage oil is not commonly used in the US but has incredible hydrating effects. Nail polish is another product with way too many chemicals, but there are great healthier, chemical- free options, like my personal favorite from Sparitual which has incredible colors.

Large Practice, Personalized Care

There is a strong culture across the Schweiger brand, but every office is unique and quirky. My personal communication style is to keep it light, add humor, develop friendships with my patients, and to break down the doctor/patient barrier. A big focus of my work is patient education, and it’s important to me that my patients feel we are partners. I think treatments are more successful and communication is more open and honest when we can get on the same level and work as a team.

In terms of how things are run overall, our entire practice is tech-based. I use an iPad to write notes which saves a lot of time. (The only downside is having your eyes glued to a screen!) I also love the ease of Capsule for prescribing because it saves my patients time and they don’t have to call in with insurance
information.

What 20-Somethings Want

Most of my patients are in their twenties, thirties, and forties. I’ve recently noticed a change in that my younger patients are beginning to take more proactive steps to keep their skin healthy. I find that having the conversation about good skincare and making sure the patient is cognizant of steps they can take at home helps.

It’s important to me to make sure any patient who comes to me for a cosmetic procedure looks natural and feels like themselves. For example, anyone who gets Botox should still be able to move their facial muscles and lift their eyebrows. Being expressive is beautiful, and Botox should soften lines and allow for natural facial expression. I’m careful not to rush or push anyone into cosmetic treatments too early, but for younger patients who are looking for more preventative treatments, there are a variety of lighter lasers we can use as a first step for anti-aging and to reverse the sun damage we all accumulated as kids.

One treatment that we’re also seeing a lot of excitement around recently is PRP, or platelet rich plasma, which involves drawing one’s own blood, separating the growth factor, then injecting it back into the face or infusing it through a minimally invasive procedure called micro-needling which is painless and has minimal downtime. It is a 100% natural treatment since it uses the patient’s own serum to stimulate collagen and can work as a great preventive tool for younger patients looking to take a more proactive step. It also works on acne scars and hair loss.

Lightning Round

I love what I do because…I get to meet new people everyday and I love getting to talk about their work, hobbies, and different perspectives — all while helping them feel good.

I wish my patients would spend more time…pointing out what they love about their skin or their features before focusing on flaws. I love helping patients accentuate or improve what they love about themselves.

I could talk for hours about….ingredients in skincare and plant- based diets.

Favorites

Exercise: I love mixing up my workout routine; some of my favorites are yoga (Power Flow at Exhale is a personal favorite), barre classes at Bar Method, and kickboxing.

Hobby: I love to cook and entertain, with a focus on organic, farm- to- table, and vegan food, and I host dinner parties often. I make a great vegan coconut lemon pie! I also love painting, and have set up a makeshift art studio in my home.

Daily Treat: I love drinking kombucha, packed with probiotics to give my skin a glow.

Time saving hack: Working on patient charts and answering messages while on my Peloton bike.

You can find Allison on social media at @skincultured and book an appointment with her here.

Know a great female doctor in NYC? We’d love to meet her, introduce us here!

Do you love your pharmacy? No, dear? Try Capsule and meet the pharmacy of the future.

--

--

Steph Goldberg
Hello, Dear - the Capsule Blog

Growth @capsulecares, the pharmacy that fell in love with you. Meeting and writing about the coolest female doctors in NYC.