Dear Doctor: Anna Karp

Steph Goldberg
Hello, Dear - the Capsule Blog
5 min readDec 7, 2017

The dermatologist with a simple approach and a big personality

When you first meet Dr. Anna Karp, dermatologist at Skin Institute of New York, you’ll likely notice her big smile, quickly followed by her even bigger personality. The glamorous doctor practices medical and cosmetic dermatology and is both easy to talk to and well-informed on her field (as her numerous of research publications attest) . Rather than recommend a complicated regimen, she takes a less-is-more approach to treatment, which she also shares on her social media platforms. Check out her favorite new treatment, favorite advice, and more below!

I’ve always had a creative side but in college, I started thinking more about medicine as a career. I was a women’s studies major but I followed a pre-med track as well. I knew a career where I was helping people would be the most fulfilling for myself. Around the same time, my father was diagnosed with cancer and that solidified my desire to become a doctor.

I didn’t immediately know I wanted to pursue dermatology as a specialty while in medical school, so I did a dual residency in both family medicine and dermatology. I realized dermatology was my passion when I saw the big impact treating skin disease had on my patients. I also loved the beauty aspects of the field and helping people look their absolute best.

I’m glad that I have a more generalist skillset and feel that my training in both specialties helps me feel more informed as I make diagnoses.

Practicing with Pizzazz

I love dermatology because it allows me to have a varied day — with laser, medical treatments, and surgery. I see all ages, from children to adults over 80, as well as both medical and cosmetic patients. I still try to get every patient, even my cosmetic patients, do their annual skin check, which is so important.

I think I have a quirky and extroverted personality. My older patients describe it as “pizzazz.” I adapt my personality to my patients, though; if someone is more mellow, I tweak my communication style to relate more to him or her. Some people come in with anxiety and I’ll make sure I can help calm them down and reassure them, whether they have a rash or a skin cancer.

Our practice has two locations: one in Brooklyn and one in the West Village, where I am most days. Our West Village location is unique and it has a really cozy, boutique feel.

I also teach a NYU resident clinic in skin and cancer. I love teaching, whether it’s in-person or through social media. Giving back is important to me as well, and I enjoy getting involved with women’s causes, like volunteering to provide free services for victims of domestic abuse.

I’m still figuring out Instagram as a platform but I like that it gives me an ability to reach a wider audience. I love showcasing the procedures I’m doing and using social media channels as a way to teach my patients and followers. I also like that allows me to show more of my personality. My many years of medical school weren’t particularly glamorous, but I’m working now on doing TV and media training to share my expertise on-air and in print.

Skincare Advice and Favorites

A treatment I’m loving right now is microneedling, which is a procedure that creates tiny channels in the skin to allow product to penetrate the skin more deeply. I really like this as an alternative to Botox for my patients who are in their 20s and 30s and are looking for a preventative treatment to combat signs of aging.

I consider myself to be tech savvy and am working on a skincare technology app that is under development. Right now, there’s no great app to evaluate your skin, but there are new technologies that are being developed that are a cutting-edge blend of art and science.

My advice for at-home care is to keep it simple. There are so many voices telling us what we need to do with our skin, but realistically, too many options can be overwhelming. If you can only do one thing, make sure you apply sunscreen. If you have time for two things, add a retinol at night. And if you can do three things, go for an antioxidant serum before your sunscreen. Overall, I love Neutrogena products, EltaMD sunscreen, SkinCeuticals, and Skin Better, which is currently my favorite line and has medical grade products. Their AlphaRet retinol and eye cream are personal favorites.

Lightning Round

I feel looked after when…I take some time for self-care, whether that’s yoga, running, meditation, or spending time at The Wing, a women-only social club I recently joined.

Everyone could use a little more…help from a dermatologist. I always try to make the experience fun for patients.

Best advice I’ve received…you have two ears and one mouth! I try to practice active listening.

Favorites

NYC winter activity : Getting into cozy sweats. I’ve also started taking up crocheting, which is really relaxing!

Guilty pleasure: Desserts from Mah De Zahr Bakery, my current obsession.

Currently reading: I really like Gabby Bernstein and am reading her latest book.

Physical activity: I love classes at Barre3 and 305 Fitness and working out with my awesome trainer, Benjamin Horen in Chelsea. I try to live a healthy lifestyle even though I have a weakness for pastries!

Time saver: I have a things to do list app which I use all the time. I’m very into organization.

My personal style: Edgy with a touch of girly, and never too put together. I love luxe fabrics and overalls.

You can find Dr. Karp at Skin Institute of New York.

Know a great female doctor in NYC? We’d love to meet her, introduce us here!

Do you love your pharmacy? No, dear? Try Capsule and meet the pharmacy of the future.

--

--

Steph Goldberg
Hello, Dear - the Capsule Blog

Growth @capsulecares, the pharmacy that fell in love with you. Meeting and writing about the coolest female doctors in NYC.