Dear Doctor: Caroline Messer

Danielle Schostak
Hello, Dear - the Capsule Blog
6 min readJul 17, 2018

The Upper East Side endocrinologist on testing new technology, continuity of care, and working in media

Being a doctor was always a part of Dr. Caroline Messer’s plan. She grew up surrounded by physicians, which led to her love for medicine and caring for others. I met the bold and passionate Dr. Messer at her home on the Upper West Side, just across the park from her private Upper East Side practice, Fifth Avenue Endocrinology. Read on to learn about the incredible family history that inspired her to become a doctor, her work in media and with some of New York’s best sports teams (she’s the official endocrinologist for the Rangers, Knicks, and Liberty), and what she does to keep herself and her family of six healthy!

“I come from a long line of doctors, starting with my grandparents. I wouldn’t say it was a foregone conclusion that I’d become a doctor, but I’ve wanted to be a physician since I was three. I never really considered any other profession; it’s a part of my identity.”

Following in the Footsteps of her Grandparents

Having a grandmother as a doctor was especially inspiring. She was an OBGYN, and one of the founding members of Planned Parenthood. My grandparents came to the states after escaping the rise of Nazi Germany in the late 1930s, and they opened their own practice shortly afterward in Brooklyn. My grandparents literally had to smuggle their medical diplomas out of the country. Recently, I found my grandparents’ scheduling books from their practice in 1940s. They were seeing about approximately ten patients a day, which blew my mind because at my peak, I was seeing 25 patients a day. Having that many patients a day, for me, took away the joy of practicing medicine. Now I see about 10–15 patients a day and am unbelievably happy in my work. I think that’s the way that medicine is supposed to be practiced.

Getting into Endocrinology

I was a first or second year medical student when one of my professors from Mount Sinai, Alice Levine, gave a lecture on Congenital Adrenal Hyperplasia, which is a rare disease that alters hormone production in the adrenal glands. The lecture was infinitely complex and fascinating, and I knew at that moment that there was nothing I wanted to do more than endocrinology. I’m still very close with Alice, and since then, she’s been a mentor, colleague, and friend.

Starting a Private Practice

My partner at Fifth Avenue Endocrinology, Dr. Minisha Sood, and I met as faculty physicians at Lenox Hill. We were placed together in an office, and it was sort of love at first sight — serendipity. I’m confident we’ll be working together for the rest of our lives. We practice very similarly, with evidence-based medicine. We are also very Type A when it comes to our patients — on top of everything, easy to reach, and always accessible.

We’re both focused on helping people with weight concerns because we feel that you can either patch up someone’s arthritis and elevated cholesterol, or you can really tackle the underlying issue. I have an additional board certification in nutrition and Dr. Sood is working on getting boarded in obesity medicine. We do refer outside of our practice for nutritional support, but these additional certifications allow us to do more ourselves.

Something I especially love is when I see one patient and they start to send friends or family to see me as well. Then I truly begin to learn about them and form close relationships. I have patients whom I have been with for eight years, who have followed me from Westchester to Lenox Hill and now to my private practice. I find that so rewarding.

There’s a lot of continuity of care in endocrinology, which is really important to me. I like to get to know my patients — hopefully for the duration of our lives.

Venturing into Media — and Working with Athletes

When I was at a multi-specialty group in Westchester and later at Lenox Hill, I had a long waitlist and it was stressful for us to fit everything in. I realized that it would be great to reach a few million people in ten minutes — especially since it’s so important to have evidence-based doctors on TV feeding truths to audiences. Lenox Hill had a media department, and soon I was appearing on NBC, CBS, and Fox. The most important thing to me is that I’m not making any statements that aren’t backed up by science. You think that would be obvious but it’s not. Sometimes the facts may not be that engaging, so I have to find an interesting spin.

As for treating athletic teams, one of the primary care physicians that I worked with closely at my first job is best friends with the Chief Medical Officer at Madison Square Garden. Years ago, they were looking for an endocrinologist for the Rangers, Knicks, and Liberty, and my friend recommended me. It’s not really a job, as I don’t have an annual stipend. However, the expectation is that if one of the team members, a family member, or a friend needs to see an endocrinologist, I’ll fit them in right away and report back to the CMO. There’s not a lot of foot traffic from that. It tends to be more relatives, with the whole gamut of endocrine issues.

Testing New Technology and Developments

When any new technology comes out in our field, Dr. Sood and I will test it on ourselves first. We’ll wear insulin pumps and glucose monitors even though we don’t have diabetes. It helps us really understand the pitfalls of the new technology prior to prescribing it to our patients.

There’s so much research and so many new developments in endocrinology now. For example, there are studies looking at smart insulins that detect sugars and release insulin as needed. In the thyroid cancer realm, it’s amazing the difference from when I graduated until now. For example, now we can subdivide patients to figure out risks and tailor treatments to a specific cancer based on their genetic profile. It’s changing leaps and bounds every day.

Life in New York City

When patients are feeling bad, there are a lot of the somatic complaints we can’t explain. In a city like NYC with so much stress, I think we sometimes do a disservice to patients by giving all of these labels, instead of really addressing what’s going on. I’m not a trained psychiatrist, but I’m willing to think about these issues and find my patients the help they need. Patients often come in with issues like not menstruating, hair loss, insomnia, dizzy spells, or chest pains. All these things can be the result of stress and can also impact endocrine issues. Often, there is a taboo talking about mental health. Yet it’s very similar to hormonal issues and should really be treated as any other medical issue.

Lightning Round

I feel looked after when…The stars align and all six of my family members sit down for dinner; that’s when I feel the best.

Everybody could use a bit more…Resilience.

I stay healthy by…Practicing what I preach, playing ultimate frisbee and boxing at Modern Martial Arts.

Favorites

Restaurants: Milos, for very special occasions.

Summer activity: Family camp in Vermont; playing sports all day, and acting like a kid.

Reads: I read non-stop! For my book club now, I’m reading Little Fires Everywhere, and before that I read Happens Everyday, Light Between Oceans, All the Light We Cannot See, and A Man called Ove

Healthy brands: I love Figure 4 Barre at Pure Yoga — it’s great for stretching and strength. For snacks, I reach for KIND Bars. They are low on the glycemic index and healthy. I recommend them to patients, too.

You can learn more about Dr. Messer at Fifth Avenue Endocrinology here!

Know a great female doctor in NYC? We’d love to meet her, introduce us here!

Do you love your pharmacy? No, dear? Try Capsule and meet the pharmacy of the future.

--

--