Dear Doctor: Christine Persaud

Steph Goldberg
Hello, Dear - the Capsule Blog
6 min readFeb 1, 2018

The concussion expert giving back to the community

“I really like to get things done,” says Dr. Christine Persaud, in what may be the understatement of the century. Since graduating medical school at the age of 23 and landing her dream job practicing nonoperative sports medicine at SUNY Downstate Medical Center, she has started up a fellowship program, volunteered countless hours in the local community, and is pursuing another graduate degree in business. Practicing in the neighborhood where she grew up, Dr. Persaud works with athletes with NCAA dreams as well as those getting back in shape later in life to keep them in tip-top shape and free from injury. But it’s not all work, no play. Through it all, Persaud has found time to travel the world and give birth to a beautiful baby boy. She shares her thoughts on fitness, concussions, giving back, and more below!

“During my residency, I found myself seeing a lot of patients with knee, shoulder pain and concussions. I saw the need for nonoperative sports physicians, especially with the increasing prevalence of concussions in football. I enjoy working with patients who have a passion for what they are doing, and I like being able to help them get back into their sport. Many of my patients are athletes who are dedicated to getting better or those wanting to get back into the gym.

On Fitness

I wasn’t into a specific sport growing up, but I’ve always loved fitness (especially powerlifting), and working out is big in my family. My parents still exercise several days a week, my dad sometimes for two hours a day or more!

I’ve seen sports medicine become more popular as we try to get more active. It’s great to see more people taking charge of their health, though this does come with an increased chance of injury. Specifically, with more people taking group fitness classes, I’m seeing different types of injuries, especially in workouts that are more competitive, like Crossfit. Some of these classes can be very advanced or fast-paced, and for someone who is not used to the exercises or who is pushing too hard too soon, there is injury risk. For example, some people tear their meniscus doing squats improperly, or can get a shoulder injury taking on too much weight benchpressing. I’m always happy to see people get into working out, but we need to be cognizant of knowing the body’s limits.

On Concussions

We run the only Brooklyn-based concussion center and see a ton of concussions. These are clinical diagnoses, which means there are no blood tests or MRIs that will give us the diagnosis. Instead, I rely on how the person is feeling and what they say, and we also do an in-depth neurological exam and use a computerized test called Impact. The visits are long, because they demand lots of education to the patient and parents.

It’s so important to develop trust with patients, because so much of the diagnosis relies on information that they tell you, and I can’t stress enough the importance of being honest. Many athletes want to get back on the field, but there is a risk of Second Impact Syndrome, which is when a second injury occurs before the first can heal, and the brain can swell and hemorrhage. When the patient is a child or a teenager, I have the parent in the room as well during an appointment, so we can all be on the same page with how serious these diagnoses can be and the importance of taking time to recover.

A lot of people base what they know about concussions from what they see in the movies and on TV. These portrayals are not always inaccurate, but they often show the worst case scenario, where someone is passed out. In reality, symptoms can manifest in more subtle ways, in the form of headaches, dizziness, or irritability. It could take someone a week to recover, or it could take months.

Data shows that neck-strengthening exercises may help reduce the impact of concussions, but more research still needs to be done. We still can’t measure how bad a concussion is, so there is plenty of opportunity for more research and technology to help us advance in our field.

On Giving Back

Culturally, religiously, and socioeconomically, Brooklyn is a great place to work. It’s changing rapidly. I grew up here, and it’s been great to come back to my roots. We do a lot of community service work, such as seeing thousands of pro bono patients, conducting school physicals at the local high schools, and running an injury clinic on the weekends to take care of athletes. This is huge for parents, because they don’t have to take their kids to the ER over the weekend or wait until Monday to see a doctor. I also give concussion talks at PTA meetings.

I work closely with high school athletes here in Brooklyn. For many of these kids in the inner city, the only way for them to get to college and get it paid for is through an athletic scholarship. So it’s more than just fixing an injury from the field.

Our residents and fellows cover all the football games in the area. I actually cover the football team of the high school that I went to. When I talk to the students, I think it gives them hope to see that someone from their neighborhood went on to be a physician.

It’s a great feeling to give back. I was so lucky to have a great mentor in my fellowship, my program director. One of the best things my mentor taught me was how important it is to treat everyone the same, from your colleagues, to your staff, to your patients and beyond. This has helped me establish a great rapport with my patients as well as coworkers.

What’s Next?

My dream job was to work at a big academic institution in sports medicine. I feel so lucky that I’ve checked that off my bucket list early in my career.

I also recently started a sports medicine fellowship here at the hospital, which is a new program. This was another bucket list moment for me. We began this July and have two fellows in the program. It’s so rewarding to be training the next generation and their curiosity and questions keep me on my toes!

My long term, 10–20 year goal is to have a role that is both clinical and administrative, so I am getting my MBA right now. There are so many business skills that are not taught in medical school that would be so helpful to know starting out, like managing finances or marketing your practice, and I’ve already learned so much.

Lightning Round

I feel looked after…by my mom. She takes care of me really well and always has my back. My husband is awesome too, especially in taking care of our ten-month old.

If I weren’t a doctor, I might be…a math teacher. My dad and brother are math teachers, and I’ve always loved math.

Everyone could use a little more…happiness. We all have good days and bad days, but it’s important to take a step back and have perspective.

Favorites

NYC neighborhood — Fort Greene. I went to high school there, but the neighborhood has changed a lot! There are great restaurants, a beautiful park, and fun shopping. To me, it’s like it’s a little Manhattan over in Brooklyn.

Relax ritual — I love to unwind with music and dance around my apartment with my husband and baby.

Travel destination — I absolutely love to travel and once made it to 10 countries in one year: Bermuda, France, South Africa, Thailand, Philippines, Jamaica, and more!

You can learn more about Dr. Persaud here

Know a great female doctor in NYC? We’d love to meet her, introduce us here!

Do you love your pharmacy? No, dear? Try Capsule and meet the pharmacy of the future.

--

--

Steph Goldberg
Hello, Dear - the Capsule Blog

Growth @capsulecares, the pharmacy that fell in love with you. Meeting and writing about the coolest female doctors in NYC.