Dear Doctor: Dana Wang

Steph Goldberg
Hello, Dear - the Capsule Blog
6 min readDec 14, 2017

The psychiatrist using biofeedback to make data based treatment decisions

When Dr. Dana Wang was young and people asked her about her dream superpower, she always had the same answer: mind reading! So it’s no surprise that her curiosity into the human mind led her to become a psychiatrist. She asks plenty of questions to understand each patient’s lifestyle and utilizes biofeedback, a technique where patients are taught to monitor and control functions in the body, like heart rate or brain wave activity, in order to reduce stress and other conditions. This combination of treating patients with empathy and data makes her a favorite of busy, working New Yorkers. Read on for more about her approach to care.

Iactually set out to become a cardiologist, but I made the move to psychiatry because I wanted more face time with patients than I observed in a managed care setting. Psychiatry allows me to get to know a person as a whole and see the world through their eyes. Other fields may not have the luxury or the time to invest one-on-one with a patient, so I feel fortunate that I can do this. I’m very lucky because I don’t feel like my work is really work! I’ve always had a strong curiosity about how people see the world and live their lives. It’s what motivates me.

On Communication and Forming Connection

I usually start by contacting the patient before meeting to make sure what they are looking for is something I provide. Understanding the patient’s needs helps me prep and pull any medical records ahead of time to make the appointment run as smoothly as possible. It also breaks the ice to have been able to chat before someone sits down and starts telling me lots of details about their life!

On calls and at appointments, I ask a lot of questions so that I can get a snapshot of how someone sees the world and why they feel the way that the do. I think of it this way: if your blood sugar level is high, we can fix that with medication, but if you don’t change your eating habits, it will be hard to improve long-term. It’s the same with psychiatry. If the hormonal and neurological systems are out of balance, we have to treat those, but it’s important to look at other factors that may be more environmental and make sure we are addressing those as well.

To me, compassionate care means personalized care. I want to meet the patient where they are and design a treatment program that meets their goals.

On Technology

I don’t even know how I would practice without technology. There is no blood test that will diagnose depression (yet!), so I appreciate having tools that can help generate helpful data for diagnoses and treatments. Specifically, I use neurofeedback to target different networks where the brain is over or under- active. For example, for those with ADHD or ADD, we know the prefrontal cortex is under-active. We bring that part of the brain online more and increase its activity, like exercise. We want to work on strengthening the pathway so that eventually, you can do that naturally and spontaneously without even thinking about it. At my clinic Rivia Medical, we sometimes think of ourselves as coaches who focus on training the brain.

The beauty of neurofeedback training is that it strengthens with repetition. We are often able to get people off medication or allow them to reduce their dosage. Over time, it’s about getting people to self-regulate and reach their brain performance potential.

On Stress

New Yorkers are very educated; they know the importance of meditation but it can be hard for anybody to just turn their brain off without training. So I do a lot of relaxation training for anxiety. We work on getting someone to bypass that mental resistance and get into a relaxed state.

After ten to twenty sessions of neurofeedback and relaxation training, I’ve had patients tell me the things that used to stress them out are no longer as bothersome. They can observe and feel calm about anxiety-provoking situations. This leads to better judgment and helps them make more thoughtful decisions in stressful situations. I hear a lot of, “Wow! So this is what it feels like to be really relaxed!” That always feels puts a smile on my face.

On Work

I work in Midtown East and see a lot of busy professionals. Some people see me as a tune-up in the middle of the day. We discuss workplace dynamics and things that can impact performance. Some people receive little feedback or mentorship at work to give them this perspective, so I offer my objective voice.

After all, we spend so many hours at work that we should be addressing those relationships, how to do our best work, and how to work to our full potential. I also address burnout, because many people are conditioned to work to 110% of their capacity all of the time. If you are only able to work at this level, even for less demanding tasks, it becomes a recipe for burnout. Not all stress is bad, of course, but people who are able to adjust their focus and capacity up or down depending on the task at hand are usually those who are most successful professionally.

Lightning Round

I love what I do because…I get to meet people from all walks of life. I think it’s very magical.

New Yorkers are unique because…they are go-getters for sure. One of my patients put it eloquently in a recent conversation so I’d like to quote her: “Most of us are not from New York; we choose to be here. That sense of choice builds community and that energy is palpable.”

I wish more people knew…it’s okay to see a therapist without feeling like there is something wrong with you. We’re nice people to have a conversation with!

I’m inspired by…my patients. Their strength and their will to improve always inspires me.

I feel looked after by…my colleagues. We are humble enough to ask each other for help. I’ll often pop into my colleague Dr. Raad’s office when I’ve had a tough day, or we will get one another lunch when one of us is too busy. I feel looked after knowing we’re a team.

Favorites

NYC neighborhood: I’m still new to the city and enjoying exploring! I’m drawn to neighborhoods with great food; I follow my nose!

Winter activity: I love to stay in when it’s cold and rainy with a cup of hot chocolate and a good book. I love having some unstructured time.

App: There are so many good meditation apps. I recommend different ones to people based on their preferences. I really like Insight Timer, which is a community where you can search for different meditations based on your mood. It’s also free, which is nice, and you can track your progress.

Travel destination: I’ve been lucky to have traveled a lot and have lived on four continents. One place I haven’t explored much is Africa, so that’s next on my bucket list.

You can find Dr. Wang at Rivia Medical.

Know a great female doctor in NYC? We’d love to meet her, introduce us here!

Do you love your pharmacy? No, dear? Try Capsule and meet the pharmacy of the future.

--

--

Steph Goldberg
Hello, Dear - the Capsule Blog

Growth @capsulecares, the pharmacy that fell in love with you. Meeting and writing about the coolest female doctors in NYC.