Dear Doctor: Danielle Nicolo

Steph Goldberg
Hello, Dear - the Capsule Blog
5 min readDec 13, 2017

The internist and preventative cardiologist with a passion for teaching

Specializing in both internal medicine and cardiology at Weill Cornell, Dr. Danielle Nicolo brings a particular emphasis on education and prevention to her practice. She focuses on understanding each patient’s goals and personal experience to create treatment plans that feel achievable and easy-to-understand (turning down the knob on confusing “doctor-speak”). As a busy New Yorker herself, she understands the challenges of making time for nutrition and exercise, so she meets her patients where they are in the process, and also incorporates frequent follow-ups and check-ins. While she’s not practicing, you can find her on the playground with her daughter, or spending time in Central Park. Check out her thoughts on healthy living, patient care, and education below!

I came into medicine on the later side. I first studied biochemistry, worked several jobs in the biotech industry, earned a PhD, and published my research in medical journals before going to medical school. As I presented my research at national conferences, I saw how the doctors were using treatments to heal patients, and that seemed so much more meaningful to me! My PhD was in immunology studying inflammation in the heart, which created a natural transition into cardiology. I love it because it’s a field where you can really change people’s outcomes and improve the quality of their lives.

On Healthy Living

People don’t understand how important diet and exercise are in heart health, and the direct impact that lifestyle has on one’s health. I like to think of food as medicine. When you go to the grocery store, you’re picking out your treatment.

With regard to exercise, I try to meet people where they are. I take the time to really understand my patients and their world. I suggest they do whatever they like to do, whether that’s fitness classes, the treadmill, or a walk around the neighborhood.

On Patient Care

I consider my patients to be like family. I like to know about their family, their lifestyle, their background. Having this context also helps unlock ways to help them.

The patient’s visit is for them. This is not a place anyone should come to feel bad. I know sometimes it’s hard to reach out for help, so I like to set clear goals for each patient, and we usually set follow-up appointments to provide feedback, encouragement and motivation. I encourage honesty about how they’ve been sticking to the treatment plan (or not), and respect my patients’ choices. I teach them about the guidelines and give evidence-based recommendations, but I understand that they will make their own choices about their health.

We have a website where I can see labs, communicate directly with patients, schedule appointments and access medication information. This is the best way that I can be in touch with patients. They can message me with questions, scan in records, and send photos to me directly. It’s wonderful because it’s there whenever you need it and is a great tool for direct access, even when I’m traveling or not in the office .

Some people come in to see me in response to an event, like chest pains or a heart attack. In these cases, I’ll explain what happened and help set a clear plan for going forward. On the other end of the spectrum, prevention is one of the most important things I do and one of the things I enjoy the most. Cardiovascular disease is so prevalent, and everyone can benefit from education.

On Education

One great opportunity for me to learn more about optimizing the patient’s experience was teaching a class to the medical students here at Cornell. I taught about the doctor/patient relationship. Although I was teaching, I learned a lot about communication, sensitivity, timing, and I got to meet a lot of colleagues who have patient-centric practices that I collaborate with all the time.

When you are educating people, you can empower them to change their future. I see my role more as a teacher and I enjoy giving talks to groups so that I can reach more people at a time, and they can go home and teach their family and friends what they learned about living a longer, healthier life. I’ve given talks at the local library and to several companies about heart disease prevention.

Lightning Round

I love what I do because…it’s rewarding that people open up to me and invite me into their lives and trust me to help with their future. It’s a real privilege.

If I weren’t a doctor I’d be…a travel writer. I love to travel!

I feel looked after when…I’m with my husband.

I wish more people knew…that heart disease is irreversible, so prevention is crucial and understanding your risk factors is essential.

New Yorkers are unique because…they’re savvy. They keep you on your game! It challenges me to be my best.

Favorites

NYC neighborhood: Anywhere with a playground where I can play with my daughter.

Commute activity: I read the New York Times app in the mornings to stay on top of the ever-changing news.

Guilty pleasure: Pizza! In moderation, of course.

Fall activity: Walking through the park and watching the foliage.

You can find Dr. Nicolo at Weill Cornell.

Know a great female doctor in NYC? We’d love to meet her, introduce us here!

Do you love your pharmacy? No, dear? Try Capsule and meet the pharmacy of the future.

--

--

Steph Goldberg
Hello, Dear - the Capsule Blog

Growth @capsulecares, the pharmacy that fell in love with you. Meeting and writing about the coolest female doctors in NYC.