Dear Doctor: Denise Moses

Capsule
Hello, Dear - the Capsule Blog
5 min readAug 21, 2021

--

The New York-based obstetrician-gynecologist on fostering shared decision-making with her patients and what gets her excited about the future of women’s health.

By Maya De La Rosa-Cohen

Board-certified obstetrician-gynecologist Dr. Denise Moses is passionate about providing individualized and compassionate care. Through her clinical practice, she works to help her patients make the right decisions for them.

Read on to learn how she got started in medicine, why she fosters shared decision-making with her patients, and which advancements she believes are crucial to advancing the field of women’s health.

How did you get started in medicine and what inspired you to choose your specialty?

I’ve always been interested in biology and medicine. From as early as the 5th grade, I remember being intrigued by what my pediatrician was doing. Once we started learning the basics of biology in elementary and middle school, I imagined becoming a doctor.

By the end of high school, I took a human physiology course and loved learning all about the different types of cells and organs. At one point during the course, they took us to a hospital to shadow a surgeon and watch them perform surgeries. When I realized that I had the stomach to watch surgeries and was still fascinated by the field — I knew medicine was the right path for me.

When it came time to consider my specialty, I knew that I enjoyed surgery but that I also wanted to build long-term relationships with my patients and wanted to see them across their lifetimes. OBGYN ended up being the perfect fit.

What is your approach to patient care?

I listen to what my patients have to say and use our conversations to gear us toward shared decision-making.

I like to treat my patients as I would want to be treated and the same way that I would treat my family members. In practice, this goes beyond the doctor simply telling the patient what needs to be done. Instead, I foster conversations with my patients where we discuss the options available and have thorough discussions about the risks and benefits of each.

You’ve spoken about vaginal birth after cesarean (VBAC) and its potential benefits to applicable mothers. What do you wish more people knew about VBAC?

I wish more women knew that VBAC is a possibility. At the same time, I wish that women who don’t have a VBAC for whatever reason don’t feel guilty about it. For mothers that have cesareans, I wish that they knew that they’re strong and exceptional no matter what. Giving birth to healthy babies doesn’t necessitate a vaginal birth.

Unfortunately, I encounter a lot of women who don’t have vaginal births who feel less than as a result. Even I caught myself feeling similarly after my cesarean. There can be a lot of expectations when it comes to giving birth, but we have to remember that there is no “right” or “wrong” way to bring our babies into the world.

Ultimately, it can be uplifting and healing to have a VBAC, but for those women for whom it’s unsuccessful or for those women who choose to have a repeat cesarean, they’re still mothers, no matter what.

What can you tell us about the Covid vaccine and pregnancy?

At this point, we have evidence from studies that show that getting the Covid vaccine is safe during pregnancy and that it doesn’t matter during which trimester the mom decides to get vaccinated. In addition to protecting the mother against the virus, there is a potential benefit of the mom creating antibodies that are later passed on and work to protect her baby.

Some pregnant women do experience side effects like fever for a few days after vaccination, but most are able to take Tylenol if they do experience that side effect.

Why is gynecological care important for women of all ages?

My patients span women of all ages, including before, during, and after their reproductive years. When people think about OBGYN care, they often think about fertility and pregnancy, but the field encompasses much more.

For women after their reproductive years, it’s very important to know that they still need to come in and get their evaluations, mammograms, or pap smears. Breast exams in particular are extremely important. I see a lot of women who come in with abnormal bleeding due to fibroids or polyps, and it’s important that we take care of those as well.

Which advancements do you believe are crucial to advancing women’s health in the long term?

The HPV vaccine has been a crucial advancement that has worked to reduce HPV infections, abnormal pap smears, and general wart infections in women.

Additionally, new surgeries have been extremely valuable as we move toward a more minimally invasive approach in reducing operative recovery time.

Lastly, making women feel comfortable in a traditionally uncomfortable environment can be crucial to helping them feel safe enough to build trust with their provider and take actionable steps toward improving their health.

Vital Signs

How do you de-stress? I come home and read a book, watch TV, or play with my kids. I definitely utilize my family and friends and love spending as much time together as we can. Also, I’ve had more time recently to go to the gym, and that’s been really helpful.

How important is it to have a “regular” period? It’s mainly important for fertility and knowing when you may be able to get pregnant. A regular period can be a period that occurs between every 28–35 days.

Favorite TV show, book, or podcast of late? I just started watching Seinfeld. I know I’m late to the game, but I’m loving it! It gives me great memories of the 90s.

What’s one healthful habit you’d love to see patients adopt? If you feel like something is wrong, don’t wait. Call your doctor.

You can learn more about Dr. Denise Moses here.

Know a great doctor or medical practice? We’d love to connect with them; introduce us here!

--

--

Capsule
Hello, Dear - the Capsule Blog

Capsule is a healthcare technology business reconnecting medication to the healthcare system and rebuilding the pharmacy from the inside out