Dear Doctor: Gauri Khurana

Steph Goldberg
Hello, Dear - the Capsule Blog
5 min readMay 10, 2018

The psychiatrist who values the synergistic combination of medication and therapy

In her cozy and welcoming Greenwich Village office (which she decorated herself) Dr. Gauri Khurana sees patients of all ages — though her focus is on college and graduate students, given her proximity to several campuses. We chatted about the challenges of coming of age in New York City, the synergistic combination of medication and therapy, and her recommendation for a 10-minute fix that’s “hands on” and healing. Read on for more!

“I went into medical school with an open mind. I thought I might pursue surgery, and I found myself fascinated by the psychiatric medications that people were taking when they went in for a procedure. I was always curious why people were on medications to help with mood, and this curiosity sparked my interest in mental health and psychiatry.

After medical school, I finished my training at the NYU Child Study Center in 2011. I always thought I would work in a hospital because throughout medical school, that’s what we are exposed to. As a result, I helped run the psychiatric emergency room at Harlem Hospital, but ultimately I made the shift to private practice. I see patients in my practice four days a week and for some variety, I also work in a college mental health center one day per week.

In my work, I take a different approach with every single person. I’ve had patients in their 30s who come in and say their parents were against medication when they were growing up, and now they are treating their focus issues for the first time.

I also love that in my specialty, you can fix someone with words and not just medications, so therapy is a big part of my practice as well.

On Treating Students

I pretty much only see college and graduate students now. It’s a really interesting developmental phase. Students have so much going on, from adjusting to New York City to growing into themselves and dealing with independence for the first time. Anything is possible in this city — you can find something to do at any hour of the day, but it can be overwhelming and people need to learn how to take care of themselves in this environment.

I went to college in New York myself, so I can understand the crazy pace of life that many of my patients are experiencing! I work closely with my patients’ therapists to make sure we are tag-teaming and tackling any issues.

After my sessions, I want people to walk away from feeling better about themselves and feeling hopeful. So I always start by asking questions like what are you studying and what do you do for fun? This job is more than just adjusting dopamine and serotonin levels; I really want to get to know my patients and make sure I’m understanding who they are. Though I do spend a lot of appointment time prescribing medications and adjusting doses, I also see some patients weekly for therapy and enjoy this aspect of my practice as well.

I’ve been glad to see that the stigma around seeking mental health help has started to diminish over the past few years. It seems like more students are seeing a therapist while at school to deal with issues around adjustment or anxiety. Because support is more readily available, you have more people going away to school who may not have had the opportunity to do so years ago.

On Wellness

Mental health and physical health are closely linked, so when it’s appropriate, I’ll remind my patients of the importance of eating right or I’ll recommend a nutritionist. The great thing about being in New York City is that you can take a workout class any time of day and there are countless options.

One easy tip I recommend is to get off the subway one stop early to get a few blocks of fresh air and exercise. Science shows we can generate new brain cells from learning something new or feeling touched. One convenient and affordable way to get the latter is to treat yourself to a 10-minute chair massage; I often recommend this to patients who are feeling lonely or could use a pick me up.

On Technology

I try to be available for my patients when they need me. I’m frequently texting because this is the preferred medium of communication for many students and what they’re comfortable with. Technology can make life easier, but it does come with complications. For example, you can lose tone and affect over text message, so I still prefer to speak with a patient in person if possible and use texting for appointments, refills, and emergencies.

If I’m away, I’m still in touch because I find it important to keep continuity of care. I’ve come to embrace the shift to electronic medical records because this allows me to prescribe or check in even if I’m away — it’s fantastic.

On Compassionate Care

The most rewarding part of my job is that I get to help people. The work is really gratifying, and to see and hear how people have progressed and found ways to cope during what can be a stressful or difficult time of life inspires me. To me, compassionate care means helping to alleviate suffering. We can get stuck on this treadmill of work and school and a certain amount of pain, and I don’t think people need to suffer as much as they do. It’s relative and everyone suffers in their own way, but I focus on ways I can help. Medications still have a degree of sigma, but they can help substantially and they do have a place in treatment.

Medication alone is good and therapy alone is good, but the combination is synergistic.

Lightning Round

I’m inspired by…all the novelties in New York City, from pop up shops to museums.

If I weren’t a doctor, I might be…a teacher. I worked as a teacher in a high school in the city for a year before medical school.

I feel looked after when…I learn new things. And when I’m with my dog.

Favorites

NYC Neighborhood: West Village, home of my favorite bakery, Mah ze Dahr. I love their pastries!

Exercise: I love yoga but also like to balance with cardio-focused workouts.

You can learn more about Dr. Khurana here!

Know a great female doctor in NYC? We’d love to meet her, introduce us here!

Do you love your pharmacy? No, dear? Try Capsule and meet the pharmacy of the future.

--

--

Steph Goldberg
Hello, Dear - the Capsule Blog

Growth @capsulecares, the pharmacy that fell in love with you. Meeting and writing about the coolest female doctors in NYC.