Dear Doctor: Ileana Benga

Steph Goldberg
Hello, Dear - the Capsule Blog
4 min readMay 15, 2018

The psychiatrist whose fascination with the brain led her to focus on treating addiction

On our arrival at her office in the heart of Midtown, Dr. Ileana Benga welcomed us in with a warm smile and chocolate, her nurturing demeanor clear right away. The space was calm and its simplicity was complemented with flowers, adding a touch of nature. As we sat down, we dove into Dr. Benga’s intriguing story of becoming a doctor. As a psychiatrist with a focus on treating addiction, Dr. Benga has always been fascinated by the brain. She became aware at a young age of how, as individuals, we each have the power to change and this inspired her to become a doctor of psychiatry. Here, Dr. Benga shares more below about her journey from Romania to New York, her passion for helping others, and the importance of not only self-improvement but also self-acceptance.

“I grew up in Transylvania, Romania, under an oppressive political regime — a tough time in the country’s history. For years, the country looked like a big prison, isolated from the rest of the world without much hope for any change. I learned early on to rely mostly on the change you can make from within. The brain’s power of adjusting perceptions and expectations to make reality more bearable captivated me.

I was lucky to be surrounded by people who valued education and encouraged me to follow my passion. I knew I wanted to pursue psychiatry ever since I can remember, probably since I first learned the meaning of the word “psychiatry.” I went to medical school in Bucharest, and it became clear very early in my studies that sticking with psychiatry would require leaving the country. Luckily again, by that time Romania was opening up, so I was able to came to New York to pursue my career.

I arrived in NYC in 2002; I didn’t really know anyone here but thanks to its amazing diversity, the city felt familiar right away. It probably helped a lot to find fellow immigrants, even Romanians, in the same residency training on Manhattan’s Upper West Side. Many of us are still friends to this day and have formed our own community. A training in addiction psychiatry in New Haven followed, and then I returned to NYC to practice. Throughout my training years, I was very fortunate to have amazing supervisors and teachers, and I’m very grateful to all of them.

Life in New York

My first job was as the medical director of an opioid addiction clinic. However, I have now been in private practice for the past eight years. I see patients primarily for opioid addiction; as we all know, the opioid abuse has become a growing public health problem. But I also get to treat a lot of anxiety and depression unrelated to substance use.

In the city, there is definitely a pressure to maintain a certain image and pace of the work that can lead some to turn to substances, but I do find that New Yorkers are sophisticated about seeking and finding help.

On Patient Care and Trust

My first meeting with a patient is very special. People who I see for the first time open up about their lives and very intimate details, so I do whatever I can to make them feel comfortable and understood.

In my treatment I use psychotherapy, which is the part of my job I love the most, and if needed I prescribe medications. The cadence in which patients see me varies, and depends on their goals and the severity of their condition.

I can’t emphasize enough the importance of the therapeutic relationship, of building trust. When I start to feel that connection being made, I know I’m on the right path. I’d like every patient to leave feeling cared for, and fortunately, caring for others comes easily to me.

New Developments in Addiction

There is an increase in available medications and growing research in the treatment of chemical dependencies, especially alcohol addiction.

A strong addiction literally changes the architecture of the brain. Our brain is made up of neural pathways, but when addiction forms, new circuits of neurons “hijack” the entire reward system, and the brain becomes driven by those new circuits. In my practice, I focus on teaching ways of activating new pathways that can hopefully compete with the addiction ones.

Lightning Round

I love what I do because…I help people to learn about themselves and I get to learn about myself too.

I’m passionate about…reading philosophy.

Everyone could use a little more…self-acceptance.

New Yorkers are unique because…they’re a diverse group who are especially resilient and creative.

Favorites

NYC Neighborhood: I love Hudson River Park along the west side of Manhattan, particularly for a sunset walk or bike ride.

Relaxation ritual: Hiking or trekking in the mountains. I’m an avid skier.

App: Instagram. I like images.

You can learn more about Dr. Benga here!

Know a great female doctor in NYC? We’d love to meet her, introduce us here!

Do you love your pharmacy? No, dear? Try Capsule and meet the pharmacy of the future.

--

--

Steph Goldberg
Hello, Dear - the Capsule Blog

Growth @capsulecares, the pharmacy that fell in love with you. Meeting and writing about the coolest female doctors in NYC.