Dear Doctor: Syra Hanif

Danielle Schostak
Hello, Dear - the Capsule Blog
5 min readMay 23, 2019

The compassionate family medicine doctor on building strong patient relationships.

Dr. Syra Hanif grew up watching her father build and nurture his private practice. He inspired her to follow in his footsteps and to provide the same high standard of care to her patients. Within the last year, Syra has learned how to run a business, how to navigate through the challenges of our healthcare system, and the importance of leaving a mark. Read on to learn more about this caring physician and the personal touches she adds to her practice to make her patients happy and comfortable.

“I was born in the UK while my dad was completing his residency in internal medicine. He started his career by teaching in medical school and later started his own practice. My sister and I were always visiting him at his office. We got to play with his stethoscope and were constantly surrounded by medicine. I’ve always been inspired by my father’s passion for medicine and his dedication to his patients. He made me fall in love with the field and is the reason that I became a doctor. Now he, my older sister, and I all practice medicine.”

Approach to Care

My training was focused on the importance of the initial contact that the doctor has with their patient and on listening and learning about their circumstances. Scientifically, we are taught to hone in on the history and the exam to figure out the diagnosis, but communication plays an important part.

Sometimes, I think we rely too much on tests alone. We do need them on many occasions, but I feel that patients value our communication just as much. They want to be heard and to be given the time they need, which is why I opened my own practice. This way, I have control over my schedule, so no one gets double booked. I’m very conscious of my patients’ time; I don’t want them to wait too long in my office. I have two young children and have sat in waiting rooms with them, so I know how it feels! I make sure to incorporate all the things I think that patients would like, and what I’d like as a patient myself, for the best patient experience.

Running a Private Practice

I opened my practice last year. I think my patients can tell that I’m giving them 100% of my attention and am available to them when they need me. I now have to spend more time on administrative work because it’s my own practice, but I’ve found ways to balance everything. Patients know that when they send me a message, I am the only person who replies, which eliminates confusion, maintains privacy, and builds the foundation for a long-lasting relationship. Even as the practice grows and I hire more people, I hope to keep these personal touches the same.

I see patients of all ages and cases of all varieties, so I never get bored. In the morning I might see someone with a cold, cough, or flu, and then later in the day a patient with diabetes and high blood pressure. I also do preventive screenings, which may also help in early cancer detection. My day-to-day routine ranges from managing simple cases to more complex or chronic diseases. I often see patients with depression and anxiety, which I am trained to help manage.

It feels so rewarding when patients leave my office content and with a smile on their face because they were able to get the help and the time they needed. This is how medicine is supposed to be and how it should be.

Women’s Health

For women, it’s so important to get screenings like pap smears and mammograms. I continuously tell my patients that if you ever feel anything, like a breast lump, it’s crucial to get it checked out.

As a mom, I understand what many of my female patients are going through. We always have a lot to talk about, and our conversations could go on forever! I get to build great relationships with these individuals, which allows me to explain the benefits of preventive screenings and makes them comfortable to talk to me about anything.

There can be a hesitancy or confusion for women to talk to their doctor about gynecological problems. Women are made to believe that their concern is probably just something normal and ignoring it is fine, but it’s really not. I always listen to my patients’ concerns and help them as much as I can, and refer them to my other colleagues as needed.

Making a Change

In medical school and residency, they never teach you about the business of medicine. I had to learn everything myself. It’s been a steep learning curve, but I’ve loved this new side of medicine. By having my own business, I’ve learned things I would have never really known about, like billing and insurance. It’s opened my eyes to the challenges that healthcare providers and that patients are facing. I now know that being a physician is about being a part of the community of physicians as well. We need to stand up for the changes that need to be made in our healthcare system. I look forward to helping make them. For now, through my own practice, I can make small changes whenever I want and that is definitely a step in the right direction.

Lightning Round

If I weren’t a doctor, I’d be…a teacher.

One thing I wish more people knew…taking care of yourself is so important (and easy to forget in our busy lives)!

New Yorkers are unique because…cultural diversity and openness.

Favorites

NYC family activity: Battery Park, in the summer we go to Long Branch Beach.

Lunch spot nearby: Thai Villa.

NYC neighborhood: Meatpacking.

Restaurant: Tao Downtown.

Exercise: SoulCycle.

You can learn more about Dr. Syra Hanif here.

Know a great female doctor in NYC? We’d love to meet her, introduce us here!

Do you love your pharmacy? No, dear? Try Capsule and meet the pharmacy of the future.

--

--