Captains Log #8: A Delightful Discussion with a Doodling Designer

Jakk Smith
Captain Jakk Media
Published in
4 min readJan 5, 2018

Having worked across a variety of creative genres since early adolescence, I have been wonderfully fortunate enough to meet a whole plethora of ‘arty’ types and creative gurus, all of whom will have influenced me in some way or other, directly and indirectly.

Among those innovative and imaginative architects (perhaps going a little far now with the compliments) is Jim Forsyth, a Media Designer from Essex. After meeting through work with Distorted Sound Magazine, and more than a few memorable collaboration (and intoxication) sessions, Jim agreed to sit down and have a little chinwag…

Mr Forsyth himself. Probably a passport photo.

Q: What was it that drew you into working in design?

A: I was always doodling as a kid, and had parents that were very encouraging of any pursuit I tried — designing seems to be the one thats stuck the most. But I’d make a point of designing things based around my other interests; be it cars, animals, space, whatever tickled my fancy at the time.

Q: What would you say were you key obstacles and difficulties when learning the ropes?

A: I’m still very much learning the ropes, and I hope to do so until I retire! I’d say that I’ve either been very lucky or just very oblivious to the efforts I put in. In my professional life it was putting a value or price-tag on my work, these days I have a crystal clear idea of how much i’d charge for an issue, or for foley design, but initially you’re kind of just thrust into this hyper-competitive market of people low-balling one another. It’s how it works and how the creative economy will always work - know your value, and know when to say no. When I started out I took a lot of jobs to make the bread I needed to live, these didn’t pay well and largely weren’t worth my time; you have to graft sure, but knowing when to stop and when to say no is just as important.

Q: What do you think are the absolute essentials for any designer? Regarding tools and/or techniques?

A: It depends on your speciality really, however there are mentalities that carry across them all; confidence in yourself and your work, patience (because a career isn’t going to fall into your lap right away), and knowing when to stop. Looking after yourself is so important because firstly, RSI (Repetitive Strain Injury) sucks a lot, and secondly, you aren’t going to create top notch work if you aren’t feeling top notch. Also stretch every so often; being cooped up in a chair for 12 hours isn’t pleasant on your hands or your back!

Q: What’s your favourite thing about designing?

A: I love the progression. Bettering myself is a real big part of what I do and I really enjoy looking back and seeing how I’ve grown.

Q: Describe your most enjoyable or memorable design project to date?

A: My Final Major Project for my BA in animation was called the Suicide Cup It was an homage to a lot of the things that influence me — cars, anime, music, gaming, graphics. It was a lot of fun and a lot to work on, but I was a part of a great team and we made exactly what we wanted. It had a dumb story, quirky visuals and a fun soundtrack; it was everything that I liked at the time and I still go back and watch it sometimes! (Watch for yourself at the bottom of the page!)

Q: Do you think you have a specific style or approach? If so, can you describe how you achieved that?

A: Not really, I pride myself a bit on my flexibility and adaptability to a brief. Over the years I’ve tried my hand at a lot of things because the opportunity has arisen; I rarely say no to any learning experience, and I think thats helped my push my skill-set for sure. I very much see myself as a jack-of-all-trades and I quite like that, its certainly helped me get where I am today.

Cheesy, but do you have any words of advice, encouragement or warning for anyone looking at a career in Design?

Just do it, what reason have you not to? It isn’t going to happen overnight and it certainly won’t be easy, but anyone is capable of anything if you put your mind to it — so why can’t you be a designer? It boils down to how willing you are to listen and learn and do. Every day is a school day, you are going to learn something new regardless, so make it about something you want, because you can! I’m not an expert at all, but I want to be; so I’m going to be.

Cheers,

Jim Forsyth

Media Designer — Tegiwa Imports/Ti Motorsport

--

--