Captain’s Log #1: Introduction

Jakk Smith
Captain Jakk Media

--

The rank and title of ‘Captain’ is usually reserved for those in a position of responsibility, leadership and integrity; those who possess the dignified qualities of a gentleman and an exemplary track record of discipline, fortitude and knowledge. A helping hand from father’s fortune would have helped at one time too!

I possess none of those things.

My captaincy was bestowed upon me one breezy freshers night by the good natured drunks that wander the localstudent village at night, for nothing more than sharing the same stye of mustache and beard with that of a man who starred in a movie about a drunken imitation of a real captain… Captain Jack Sparrow. Quite convoluted I must say, but still a Captain! I’ll take it.

Fast forward a little over 2 years since that enlightening (and questionably real) moment, and the persona born on that night is now the face and brand of my own business:

Captain Jakk Media

Ahoy! If you haven’t guessed by now, my name is Jakk, and I am the author of this godforsaken blog. While this will primarily serve as a platform for my exploration of the worlds of Digital Design and Poster Design, it will also likely feature a heavy amount of oafish rambling and senseless gibberish.

A little past turning 24, I’m a mature student at Staffordshire University studying Photojournalism, managing a society of 100+ drunk metalheads, designing a monthly metal music magazine, running my start-up business and working as a graphic designer for the Student’s Union. Phew! My main priority these days is just keeping my ship afloat…

Graduation looms ahead like an iceberg emerging from the fog, and the unchartered waters beyond fill me with more than a little trepidation. That being said, however, I’m lucky enough to be surrounded by more than a few tough and hardened sea-dogs that will help guide and prepare me for what lies beyond.

Captain Jakk.

P.S — Luckily for you readers, I have probably used up all of my nautical puns right off the bat.

--

--