How minimalism has helped me

Rajdeep Singha
Captain of Destiny
Published in
4 min readJun 12, 2020

I am a minimalist since the start of 2020. It has helped me a lot. I was inspired to try out minimalism by watching the videos of popular YouTuber Matt D’Avella.(link to his channel) I wasn’t really sure if minimalism would help me but I trusted him blindly and tried it out for myself.

So, here are some of the best parts of owning less and consuming intentionally, which might just help persuade you if you’re not yet convinced about this lifestyle.

Productivity

Photo by krisna iv on Unsplash

Minimalism has made me a much more productive person. Now I know, what tasks I should do tomorrow, how to do them, when to do them and for how long.

Of course, I don’t complete my to do list daily. I rarely do. But the situation is much better now. I am learning from my mistakes and improving.

I know it sounds ironical, but minimalism has let me produce a lot more by using less.

Clarity

Photo by Elena Taranenko on Unsplash

As mentioned earlier, I know about the tasks I need to do tomorrow. Everything is clear and attainable. It just takes a little effort and determination to a super productive day.

It is unlikely for small things to slip through the cracks in my productivity system.

In other words, I have somewhat achieved a state of mental clarity.

Flow

Photo by Chase Clark on Unsplash

Minimalism has let me be more focused. There are less distractions. It has given me the means to be in states of flow more often. I am able to do more in less time.

Minimalism has helped me to fully immerse in the task in hand and enjoy the entire process. This leads to better results.

Hobbies

Photo by Oleg Ivanov on Unsplash

It has let me deliver better quality service to my interests. My interests are not cluttered. Earlier I felt like I was interested in a lot of things and there was no way for me to organize and devote time to each and everyone of them.

But now, I can focus more on my important tasks and there is less clutter while setting my priorities.

I can dedicate more time to my hobbies. As a result, I’m improving at a decent rate.

Less Stress and More Time

Photo by Max van den Oetelaar on Unsplash

I have cleaned up a lot of junk out of my life. Now my life is a lot less stressful, I’ve got more free time to relax, spend time with friends, family and follow my interests.

In the past, I felt like I don’t have enough time to exercise, meditate, practice guitar, study, read books, draw, write and play video games on the same day. Well now, I can do all of these tasks and still have free time left to relax.

Goals

Photo by Estée Janssens on Unsplash

Thanks to minimalism, I’ve created a simple, yet detailed productivity system with the help of which I can achieve more. I have more goals now as a minimalist than I used to when I was not a minimalism. And those goals seem within reach.

Health

Photo by wee lee on Unsplash

I am a healthier person now as I’m less stressed and anxious. Thanks to minimalism, I am exercising, meditating and resting consistently which has led to a greater and better balance in my life and has overall improved my health.

More Opportunities

Photo by Matthew T Rader on Unsplash

Minimalism has let me find many opportunities to develop myself to a better human.

It has let me recognize and make full use of different opportunities that pop up in almost every area of my life.

Happiness

Photo by KAL VISUALS on Unsplash

Minimalism has changed my life. The best thing, it has made me happier. Everything is just so clear now. I am enjoying life a lot more than I used to. I’ve found a new approach to life that works very well for me.

Minimalism has let me embrace, enjoy and enhance the beauty of life. It has let me use a few resources to their maximum potential and enjoy the consequences to the fullest. It has given me a different perspective to life, one in which I’m more mindful, focused, determined and less stressed.

I am still learning and looking for new ways to implement minimalism in as many areas of my life as possible. It’s been a wonderful journey so far, which has definitely been very beneficial for me and hopefully for others and nature too.

--

--

Rajdeep Singha
Captain of Destiny

In search for ideal productivity and lifestyle design.