Visit to The Ferrari Factory

The Car Guy
Car Spot
Published in
4 min readNov 17, 2014

--

This past week, I was lucky enough to have the oppurtunity of a lifetime to visit one of the main petrolhead havens of the world.

The Ferrari Factory

The famous Ferrari Gates. As far as pictures go here, yeah, this is as far as they go. Cameras are confiscated due to some seriously private and secretive stuff in there people.

While living in the absolute relentless city of Rome, I have had numerous oppurtunities to expand and grow my company, FantasyCarsDaily, into more of a global scene. I’m more than happy to announce that we now have over 100,000 fans on our social media pages (please follow us on instagram Here) and are growing each and every day. You can say we love cars, and we do, but you’d be short on understanding how much we love them.

In early November, we were invited by a few friends over at the Ferrari factory to come to Maranello for a private visit of the facilities. You can imagine the dumb-and-overally-happy smirk that had taken over my face for the following couple of days. I was so excited to finally have an opportunity to visit the factory. Because, well, I sort of love Ferrari.

As I was sitting on my first bullet train ride headed to northern Italy for this trip, going 250kph by the way (those things are crazy fast), I was thinking of the cars I hoped I could see while I was there. I thought of the LaFerrari; Ferrari’s new, limited to 499, hyper hybrid car that reaches in excess of a million US dollars. I also really wanted to see some classics, and if you’re a true petrolhead, you know what I’m talkin’ bout. The F40, F50, and maybe even an Enzo. The train ride went by quickly as I fantasized about these gorgeous works of carbon fiber art and aerodynamics.

As I arrived in Maranello, I was greeted by the stunning site of the famous Ferrari Gate (featured above), which was the site of the roll-out of the very first Ferrari, the 125S, which took place in 1947.

I was in awe; it was something I was always dreaming of visiting; a bucket list item, if you will.

When I walked into the gates, I was greeted by a man who introduced himself and asked if I was ready for the tour. While making sure I didnt piss myself in excitement, I said, “Si! Andiamo adesso!”

Let me start off by saying what I can about this place; It’s red. Very Red. So much of the famous Ferrari Red surrounds you that you start to wonder if there are even any other types of colors in this world. Also, you instantly notice that this is an automotive factory like no other. It’s extremely clean, and tidy. Which is a HUGE bonus for an OCD guy such as myself. There are no areas of visible trash, scrap metal, or dirty old cars laying around as you typically see in US automotive factories. It’s clean. Very clean.

The first building we visited was the engine manufacturing facility, then the interior facility, and lastly the car assembly line. Since it was a Saturday, we were sadly unable to see production in action. However, the technology they have in there is unbelievable. I’m not going to tell you exactly what it’s like out of respect for my friends at the flagship automaker that is Ferrari, but I will say that the machinery and the strategy behind the assembly is an art in itself.

As we were wondering around at the end of our private tour, guess what we were lucky enough to see. Yup. The one and only. LaFerrari. It was a nera color (black) and was on its way to its lucky-ass customer. It sounded like an angel from heaven (if angels had exhaust notes… you know what I mean) and was even more outrageously styled than I had ever imagined. In person, the car seems like something sent back in time from the future. You can tell that Ferrari took their time on this one. And not to mention, the lines of the car are just… oh my god…

Next, we saw another limited edition Prancing Horse, the 458 A (Aperta, Italian for open). It was yellow, which surprisingly, looked gorgeous. It had that irresistable blue and white stripe down the center. Unreal. We were todl that these models were only for those who owned the LaFerrari.

So, guys, yes. I highly recommend visiting that factory. It’s unbelievable if you’re a car nerd like me and my team.

I will be back with more stories of my car advetures from around the world. Thanks for reading. A dopo!

--

--

The Car Guy
Car Spot

Car reviews, drives, events, & adventures. Certified Petrolhead from the States. Follow me. Founder & CEO @ Exoticartalk.com (Formerly FantasyCarsDaily Media)