People Spotlight

Carat Global
Carat
Published in
3 min readOct 31, 2017

--

Delphine Fabre-Hernoux, Global Chief Data Officer, Carat

Can you give us a quick background of who you are and how you came here today?

I am originally from France where I grew up in a village of just 800 people. I think this is what has triggered my curiosity about people, countries and cultures and my desire to work in an international role.

I joined the Network in 2013 in London, at Amnet, in charge of developing our data management platform globally after having spent my whole career in France. In 2014, when the group started to reinforce its partnership with Facebook, I moved to Amplifi to lead the creation of the Facebook Audience Lab and find new ways to innovate through data. Starting the lab with a blank piece of paper and create new ways to bring value to our clients through data, has been a truly fantastic experience. Finally, in the summer 2016, I was offered the role of Chief Data Officer at Carat Global to help our global clients navigate the new challenges of data-driven marketing and contribute to the development of DAN’s ambition to become data-led.

What is it about your area of business that really interests you?

In the last 10 years or so, my focus has really been on products, technologies and data. It is an incredibly fast-moving environment and I feel like there’s an opportunity to learn something new every day. Clients need our help to navigate this complexity and I am really excited every day to help them get the best value and the best business outcomes through data.

What is one career-defining moment for you so far?

It goes back to my Microsoft days in 2005. I was in charge of a team of Account Managers at MSN France when I was offered a role of European Product Marketing Manager to support the strategy for internal ad tech solutions for 12 markets. This came from 6 months spent on demonstrating to the global advertising & online organisation in Seattle, the importance of sitting with our clients (agencies & advertisers) to listen to them, collect their feedback and translate them into meaningful solutions and features to support media strategies, delivering quicker against a clear road map. It was really my first move into the product/data/technology world and I have not looked back since then!

What has been your greatest challenge so far?

Keeping the pace and managing my endless curiosity regarding data and technologies. Data and technologies evolve so fast that you need to stay up to date almost in real time to ensure you don’t lose the momentum and remain relevant. Whilst it is challenging I think it is an exciting prospect that we are shaping a new future for, and with, our clients.

What is your greatest piece of advice for those who would like to be a leader one day?

I believe that aspiring leaders need to challenge legacy, bring points of view and be open to new ideas.

I would also say that being self-aware of professional strengths and weaknesses is very important. If you can try to be authentic, respectful, honest and curious you’ll go a long way.

--

--