Meet the team at Carbono (part 1)

George Rmz
carbono
Published in
6 min readOct 13, 2017

Meet Miguel, he’s a Full Stack Developer at Carbono.

A song that everybody should listen?
“Cielito lindo”, it’s a very special song that everybody should listen to. It’s a great song to feel good or even feeling great! I don’t know if it has an author, but even better, because it really feels a song from the people. A must-hear for any occassion!

What is a meal or drink that you enjoy preparing?
It would be either lamprey shrimps or barbecue. Barbecue is specially great for a Sunday morning, the thing is, that I need to start preparing it from the day before. I’ve promised for a while to bring barbecue for everyone in the office but I haven’t been able to do that yet.

Someplace you would like to travel to?
Chile, mainly Santiago, its capital city. I’ve heard that Chileans are great people and they can truly make foreigners feel welcome there. I just think it would be a great experience to travel over there to South America and know their culture.

Do you have a nickname?
Several, some people call me “Miguelonches”, “El inge”, “Dado”.

A fun fact about yourself?
When I first met my best friends we wanted to beat each other. We lived in the same neighborhood but we didn’t know each other and we kind of hated seeing each other. After we started hanging out we really felt comfortable and eventually became best friends. It taught me about giving people a chance to get to know them.

A phrase or 3 words that best describe you?
Live and dream. People usually have a “regular set of goals” to which to aspire such as: first go to school certain number of years, then start working, get married, and that’s it. I live life in a way that I can really enjoy everything I do. I don’t really see my job as something that’s pulling me down because I really enjoy what I do. I’m also trying to start a business which I do with my two-year-old daughter and even though it can be hard sometimes, I’m glad I can have this different source of income and to spend more time with her.

Meet Dayra, she is our UXUI Designer at Carbono.

A song that everybody should listen?
“Los caminos de la vida” by La Tropa Vallenata, I think it has an important message about the different situations that happen through life.

What is a meal or drink that you enjoy preparing?
It would be “aguas locas”, with Tonayan. It is made with water, Tonayan, Kool Aid, and it’s a great drink for social gatherings and parties. It’s just fun and easy to prepare and it gets everyone in the mood to party!

Someplace you would like to travel to?
Finland, because I like a lot mountains, the snow, and lakes. I haven’t made plans to go yet because the plane tickets alone are really expensive, so I have to save up first.

Do you have a nickname?
Some people call me Doyra, when I was little they called me Yaya, and in my home my family calls me Day.

A fun fact about yourself?
I have phobia of cockroaches!! I can’t stand them. I also once had 3 imperial scorpions as pets, as well as a pink-legged spyder.

A phrase or 3 words that best describe you?
Crazy as f**k. I’m always trying new and different stuff. People don’t usually expect the things I come up with and I like it.

Meet César, he’s a Front End Developer at Carbono.

A song that everybody should listen?
“Bohemian Rhapsody” by Queen. I think it’s a song that everybody knows, even my mom who isn’t really into rock knows that song. It has a great vibe!

What is a meal or drink that you enjoy preparing?
It would be jamaica water (or agua de jamaica) because I like it a lot. I prepare it from scrap, i boil the jamaica leaves, let it make infussion and drink it. I also like to prepare enchiladas suizas. You need to prepare the chicken breast, and the special sauce which is made with tomatoes, coriander, garlic, and cheese. It’s a fun meal to prepare and I think my version of them is quite good. I haven’t prepared them recently, though.

Someplace you would like to travel to?
Turkey. I think it’s a place with a lot of history and has constantly been in the center of great events, wars, etc. I actually studied turkish language for about a year and a half because I admire a lot of things about their culture. Sometimes I’ll help turkish people online to learn spanish and I will ask them about turkish language for some support.

Do you have a nickname?
My brother calls me “Bloggy”, when I was in high school my friends called me “CPU”, some of my friends call me “El morro” because I use that phrase a lot so they started calling me that. And mostly I’ve been called “turco” (turkish) because of my interests with Turkey and its culture.

A fun fact about yourself?
I don’t like it when it’s sunny and it rains. I feel it’s really weird for the weather to be like that, it feels sultry weather and just uncomfortable.

Meet Gloria, she’s a Project Manager at Carbono.

A song that everybody should listen?
“Don’t stop me now” by Queen. I think it represents a highly-motivated feeling, like there’s nothing that can stop you, I just think it’s a song that everybody could enjoy.

What is a meal or drink that you enjoy preparing?
The meal would be enchiladas guerrerenses, it’s a recipe that I learned from my mom and it has a lot of different spices, I just really enjoy it. The drink would be amaranth atole because it’s a tradition to drink this at my home. Once I started living by myself I continued to prepare this drink and still now that I’m married because I feel it as a very personal recipe.

Someplace you would like to travel to?
Amsterdam in Holland. I love flowers and I think that Amsterdam is a place full of flowers, full of fields with lots of flowers.

Do you have a nickname?
My parents call me “Polla” and everyone eventually starts calling me “Glory”.

A fun fact about yourself?
I LOVE cats! I like everything about them, their fur, their whiskers, their tiny paws, etc. I actually have two cats at home, Brownie and Mongo. I named him Brownie because I love eating brownies, and Mongo because it’s a database-related name. I also love rain, I like running under the rain.

A phrase or 3 words that best describe you?
Strong, patient, and happy. I think that these words describe me the best because I always try to be smiling and happy, I like being like that. Patience because I’ve been learning and developing it through the years. When I was younger I felt I was impulsive and somewhat careless about things I said. I’ve learned that it is specially important for good relations. And finally strong because life has hit me hard several times and I’ve overcome these situations. You can feel sad, but it’s something that you need to get out of by yourself.

--

--

George Rmz
carbono
Editor for

Passionate for boxing, wine, whisky, coffee, fountain pens, and everything new to learn. Currently at Mty, Mx.