Collaborating in a digital era

Blaise Mulrooney
CARDIGAN STREET
Published in
5 min readMay 28, 2024

How workplace collaborations can benefit from both online and face-to-face communication.

A beige coloured desk. On top sits a white computer keyboard, a pair of rose-gold headphones and a mobile phone switched off.
Photo by Hillary Black on Unsplash

In the face of a digital world, it’s easy to fall into the trap of assuming communication is easier than ever before. In many ways, the notion holds true, but our evolving world of technology does not come without its own trials. As a young person growing up deeply tangled in this web, there are a few important lessons I’ve learned.

Earlier this year I got the chance to experience the wonderful, though daunting, landscape of workplace collaboration. Editing students at RMIT University were assigned to work with photography students in finalising their major photobook projects.

I found the experience to be both enlightening and valuable, working alongside another fellow editor from my class to support our photographer, Noora Ziaei, in any way I could.

Never before had I approached a stranger with such an important task. I felt thrown into the deep end, but the comfortable familiarity of my laptop and phone screens — as well as taking the time to formulate emails and edit them as many times as I pleased — helped me take that first leap.

A woman in a long, white flowing dress walks leisurely along an empty beach. Her feet are lightly touched by the incoming waves.
Photo by Noora Ziaei, 2022

Over the years, workplace communication and collaboration has shifted to an online space just as quickly as the rest of the world, and there’s no doubt that it has helped people connect with ease.

What I didn’t take into account, however, was the ambiguity this same technology could create.

My editing partner and I were waiting on a response from Noora for a few weeks. As someone just coming out of adolescence, I’d been conditioned to fast replies and quick, simple messages from friends, teachers and family members. The uncertainty that developed, knowing I had a job to do but nothing to work on, was a strange and uneasy feeling.

I found myself asking questions. What other ways should I try? Should I reach out again, or on another platform? Was my message even received?

Our evolving world of technology does not come without its own trials.

For the first time in a while, I felt that the world’s digital landscape was a hindrance rather than a help. Being such an integral aspect of my life, it had caused me to rely on its usage too heavily. In the end, I had to remind myself that behind every laptop, computer or phone there was still a human person. That person had a life; had their own struggles, commitments and sense of time to work through.

I eventually took a step back from the screens and shifted my focus to the world around me.

A laptop sitting on a desk in a completely darkened room, the lid of the device is just ajar to let the light from the screen shine out in colours of blue and orange.
Photo by Ales Nesetril on Unsplash

Noora got back to us when she could. She sent through captions for her photos, which she’d translated from German, and in turn my partner and I went through with a first read and copyedit. We were instantly captivated by the photos complementing the text, depicting a woman moving through enchanting coastal scenery and her deep, spiritual ties to nature.

The photos spoke to me, and I found myself wanting a deeper connection to people and the world just like this woman. As such, I ended up asking Noora if she’d like to meet face-to-face, but to my shock, she quickly turned down the offer (though I should mention she was nice about it).

I felt disheartened, but making her uncomfortable was the last thing I wanted.

She explained that she wasn’t too confident in her ability to speak English. Instantly, I figured this also meant she’d relied on technology for most of her time here in Australia, just as I had. She was more comfortable interacting through a screen — having the chance to proofread her words before she would send them. I understood this all too well.

But if the assignment had taught me anything, it was that most of the time stepping out of your comfort zone produced not only the best results, but surprises too. How could possibly know the things that could go right if you never tried?

A woman sits in the shallow waters of a lake, holding a large drum up to her chin with both hands.
Solana, photo by Noora Ziaei, 2022

How could possibly know the things that could go right if you never tried?

I prompted her again, taking a warm approach and indicating that I would love to meet her and briefly discuss the photobook. The very project she’d poured her heart and soul into putting together. The beautiful product of her passion and mind’s eye. In actuality, my proposition felt like nothing more than an urge to put a face to Noora’s name.

Despite her earlier reluctance, she agreed.

In I went to the photography class, and it was everything I’d hoped it would be. Noora was incredibly sweet, soft-spoken but enthusiastic about her ideas and photos. The slight language barrier seemed to melt away when we spoke about the book; with me prompting her to share the inspiration for each page, and her eagerly offering guidance for us as editors.

Together we would shape the story she wanted to tell.

A woman holds a cup above her head as she looks down towards the ground. A part of a ceremony.
Photo by Noora Ziaei, 2022

Things went smoothly for the rest of the project’s duration, the date for the photobook’s printing coming up fast. After our meeting, I felt even happier for Noora and the completion of her book. I took to technology once more to express my best wishes.

At least now, I knew there’d be a smile on the other side of the screen.

Special thanks to Noora Ziaei for allowing me to work on such a beautiful book.

--

--

Blaise Mulrooney
CARDIGAN STREET
0 Followers
Writer for

Professional Writing and Editing student at RMIT University