Silhouette

Kat Nolan
CARDIGAN STREET
Published in
2 min readNov 3, 2019

By Kat Nolan

Photo by Patrick Craig on Unsplash

Traveling to Bali for the 2019 RMIT PWE Write. Edit. Bali! study tour was an enlightening and enriching experience. A highlight for me was our trip to Ubud for this year's Writers & Readers Festival. In between festival talks, I’d walk around the city streets and reflect on what I’d learned. I soon found the streets offered a different kind of inspiration.

this place is jungle

where wilderness and metropolis collide;

a dazzling display of asymmetric harmony

this city of vines and power lines

which frame the fragile corners of the sky

and droop

down

down

down

stretching to stroke the leaves and frangipanis

that blanket pavements

stumbling in midday heat

chickens run around my feet

in a sweating city

tourists, noodles, bumbags

sunburns, bintangs, cheap fags

below me

rivers streaming

around me

crowds

teeming

clumsy clammy fingers strive to capture the feeling of a place

but all I am left

is this flimsy photograph

I push through the thrum

my footsteps follow thousands before me

my feet lead me

down crooked steps

around a bend

and past a temple

leaves as big as sails

line winding trails

I wander:

what stories have unfolded here through the ages

what poems hide

gripped between the city’s pages?

with a hunger, I want to know them all

though

(secretly)

I love the mystery

hiking up a mountain ridge I begin to see it as a bridge between

past

present

and future

my spirit soars:

indifferent jungle roars a majestic melody

cicadas, horn beeps, birdsong

and my seams come undone:

a red brazen sun against the silhouette of Ubud.

--

--