Playing Editor: What I would do differently

Marnie Jordon
CARDIGAN STREET
Published in
5 min readMay 16, 2024

Aside from the occasional feedback on another writer friends work and a small partner project in a previous editing subject, this was my first stab at playing editor. So I assume it’s perfectly natural that I found myself feeling like I was being tossed into the deep end.

From my Advanced Editing subject as a part of the coursework I undertook a collaborative project, where I was partnered up with a Photography student, to work as their editor for the writing components of a photobook they were making.

This was a great learning experience and I found it quite enjoyable getting to know someone knew and helping them make their photobook the best it could be. Reflecting back however, I feel there was a lot that know I’ve completed the experience I could have done differently. And given the chance again sometime in the future, I know this will be something I’ll likely be thinking back on. For the things I could have done better and the things that worked well.

Photo by Nikhita Rajput, Happily Ever After, 2023

Find the narrative.

This is an extremely important part of any project. It’s what ties everything together; from the introduction to the captions, even the order of photos.

Nikhita, the photography student I was assigned to, wanted to document her cousin and his fiancé. It was a heart-warming story of childhood friends to lovers, who moved overseas, making their relationship work long distance for some time and still remained happily together.

The trick with the photobook, however, was that she was documenting them in the present, not so much telling the background story. So we met up several times to discuss the project and that was a reoccurring factor. I spent a lot of time trying to get a handle on where she was going with the story, or maybe deeper meanings.

At the end of the day I missed that it was more focused on being like a documentary than a narrative focused story per say. Instead built on observing, alike to the French street photographer Henri Cartier Bresson who inspired her.

“You just have to live and life will give you pictures.” — Henri Cartier Bresson

So as a fiction writer, with a disposition juxtaposing non-fiction writing, I had to try and step out of my comfort zone centring on the facts of the story rather than overly embellishing it. As you can imagine, that made for a few drafts of the introduction that I constructed as a ghost writer, before we sorted out a version that suited her better.

Just goes to show as a writer there are many benefits of trying on different hats so to speak.

Start prepared.

As my first time being an editor, I really let the person who was doing the work indicate the timeline based on when it suited them. Whilst that is important to let the author let you know how much or how little they need/want your help, As well as, what works for them timeline wise. Because it is their work after all…

I hadn’t considered that as the editor you do need to set boundaries for not just how much you do, but also when you can have things done by. That’s not to put any blame. In fact the opposite, I didn’t consider setting those boundaries like I should have from the start. And discussing and establishing a full timeline rather than playing it by ear is important.

Be proactive.

Just because their work isn’t ready doesn’t mean you can’t get started right away. Communicating to establish a personalised style guide and other aspects of preference is something that should be gotten on top of from word go. Whereas by the time things were done for me to look at through that lens, it was too late to be overtly finicky about those things because it was all very last minute.

Whilst I did take rough notes going along, more extensive notes could have been helpful. Dedicating time to writing down a reflection on our in-person discussions and ideas that came to me after them could have been a great way to brainstorm areas that I later had to think about on the spot at later meet ups.

What to take and what not to take on the trip?’ by Nikhita Rajput, Happily Ever After, 2023

Communication is key.

Communication is the most important part of any relationship.

Communicating what the timeline is that you need to follow is how you assure you aren’t doing a rushed job last minute without sufficient time. Of course this should be done in consideration with both the editor and author’s needs.

It’s also how you prevent a certain level of miscommunication. So being prepared in that sense, to be forth right with intensions is a step that I would be more on top of from the beginning in future.

Photo by Nikhita Rajput, Happily Ever After, 2023

Always end on a good note.

I think it’s also important to acknowledge that regardless of all things I could have done differently, in the end everything still worked itself out.

Nikhita’s Photobook came together brilliantly. Seeing it as a completed, cohesive product was a feat in itself. Knowing that I got the opportunity to help her make it the best it could be puts into perspective why this was such a great experience. As well as, what it means to be an editor; you get to be a part of something.

While it wasn’t my own work, I found myself just as excited for her’s as I would have been for my own.

We did do some things really well throughout the experience. Keeping in touch, regular met ups to discuss the project properly and both being honest and respectful of each other to name a few things.

So with all these things in mind, it certainly didn’t go perfect, but it was a gratifying experience all the same. Either way, next time I play editor, I know what I’ll do differently.

--

--