Manish Shetty — Signalchip Innovations

Lokesh Singla
Career Cafe
Published in
3 min readFeb 8, 2021

We bring you Manish Shetty! He graduated in 2020 in the discipline of Electrical Engineering specializing in VLSI design from IIT Indore. Read on to know more about his exciting internship journey!

Photo by Pok Rie from Pexels

A quick introduction, my name is Manish Shetty — alumni IIT Indore Electrical Engineering batch 2020 specialized in VLSI field and did my final year internship in Mentor as a Hardware Intern. I am currently working as Digital Design Engineer in Signalchip Innovations. I was a member of the Integrated Circuit Design Club, newly founded by us, a bunch of VLSI enthusiasts at the end of our third year.

Let’s start by knowing the motivation behind my field. I was always interested in understanding how the technology around me worked as it was evolving when I was growing up. The reason I aspired to become an Electronics engineer was to learn about computers and mobile chips, thereby having a chance to make them on my own.

Now, let me introduce you to my working plan. I was working on projects in the VLSI Lab under Ph.D. students during the break after the second year to gain practical knowledge about how chips are produced. Honestly, I feel that studying only theories from books and going for marks won’t suffice you in the VLSI industry which is already dominated by MTech students for the very same reason as practical knowledge is what matters more in industry.

Talking about internship, I gained a lot of experience with learning value. Initially, no VLSI company came to our college during our internship placements. Only at the very end, Mentor took students based on our resumes. But the position turned out to be more software related than hardware. During the internship, I wasn’t very satisfied with the work given. After all, I had worked in this field I ended up in a software testing kind of job, it was frustrating ¯\_(ツ)_/¯. But the knowledge you gain from working in such a company. even if you don’t like it, is of immense value that you get to understand only when you start your job.

Finally, I would like to end with that you should be aware of what field you want to pursue your career by the end of the second year. Till then you can explore different fields and find what interests you and also enjoy your college life as much as you want. Once you have decided, continue working in that field outside your usual academics. If you are only interested in money I will advise you to start coding from day one of your college and do not care about your CPI. But if you decide to pursue any other field that you are interested in, then don’t be dependent on our placement cell for getting you that job, you will be disappointed. You will have to fend for it yourself. Find friends with similar interests, they will be the perfect guidance for you. Remember to stay patient and continue with your passion when things aren’t going the way you want them to because they eventually will.

I hope this helps !! And All the Best !!

-Manish Shetty

--

--