Nagasai Bharat — Addverb Technologies

Eshaan Sachdeva
Career Cafe
Published in
4 min readFeb 8, 2021

We bring you Nagasai Bharat! He graduated in 2020 from the Department of Electrical Engineering specializing in the field of Embedded Systems and Digital Electronics. Read on to know more about his exciting internship journey.

Q) Can you tell us briefly about the company?

Addverb was a start-up company that started in 2016 to provide intra-logistic support to the warehouses. It had an aim to automate the warehouses with its management software systems, developing robots and embedded systems. Some of these systems included picking systems and mobile robots for easy displacement of goods. These developed in a way to increase the productivity of the workers in the warehouse.

Q) Which profile were you interested in?

I had an enthusiasm to learn about the things that surrounded me the most to us i.e., our mobile phones, laptops, and many more. This enthusiasm led me to find the field I wanted to pursue, Embedded System it was. In my spare time, I looked online for materials about their work and types. Also audited some courses in Coursera and Edx to gain more insight about it. These were not the things majority of students were doing at that time when almost everyone was well into competitive programming and software development which I for some reason never fancied. So followed my own interests and started doing projects under professors working in those domains.

Q) Can you tell us briefly about the Internship Drive Process?

Addverb was the first company that visited IIT Indore offering internship roles in various core profiles (Electrical, Electronics, and Mechanical). I myself was interested in developing products and solve real-world problems, saw this as a great opportunity as the company provided automation solutions in warehouses. Though many students appeared for the drive, I kept my cool and started preparing for the interview as much I can.

Q) Can you tell us briefly about the day of the drive?

After the company presentation where they explained their products and company culture, they moved on to shortlist candidates for respective roles through our resumes mostly based on cpi and projects done for their requirements. There was no test in their drive so they moved to interviews for the shortlisted candidates. I got shortlisted for the robotics profile with some mistake but after a short conversation, they did reconsider taking my interview for the embedded profile. The person who was supposed to take my technical interview was unavailable that day so they scheduled it the next day, meanwhile, they asked me to take the HR round first(Generally HR round takes place after the technical rounds). The HR round was being taken by the Head HR and one of the co-founders of Addverb. Though we were a tough guy to be interviewed, we somehow hit a rapport for around 45 min with some technical questions based on my projects (basically analyzing the things written in the resume were authentic or not) and some tricky personality takes. He did get satisfied with my interview but didn’t expect that he would be so pleased with me to offer an internship without a technical round. As it was a start-up they did look up for talented plus passionate students, I guess a scored well in front of him with my eagerness to learn and passion for the field. That’s how got an offer as an intern in Addverb.

Q) How was your experience at Addverb?

The experience was quite different what my friends who had done their internships in MNCs. The timings were not that strict but depend on the work we did stay late most of the days. We did this because learning was immense not only considering the projects we were doing we allotted many tasks like soldering and testing of various products under development. It was a difficult job there but each day we were learning something new which not much discussed in our college curriculum. Some tasks were tedious and some were brain-storming but we somehow managed and get our bit of appreciation for our work.

This was my first step towards a corporate life, it was stressful as you cannot expect people to be nice to you always and you have figured it on your own how to make it right. This experience made me tougher for my future jobs and also got a lot of technical insight which I wouldn’t get without Addverb.

As people were also new with some of the technologies, we had to find solutions on our own sometimes but constant support in terms of knowledge, as well as the hardware we require, was given to us.

In our leisure time, we used to play table tennis and foosball with our colleagues during and after our working hours, We used to hang out in the cafeteria during breaks. And also there were occasional outings with the team where we were taken out for a meal.

His working desk

Q) Can you tell us briefly about the companies location?

The company was located in Noida. This was my very first visit to this part of the country. We did roam a lot in New Delhi, Gurgaon through the metro and had many memories there. Every weekend we planned somewhere or the other, sometimes going to a historic place and other times trying the delicacies of the region.

Q) Any suggestions from your side?

Though everyone is in the race to earn and get a good internship and placement, try to not get carried away or affected by what others are doing. Find what interests you to become an engineer and work hard to achieve the goals you have set for yourself. Finally, I would like to wish you all the best for your career and hope you start learning instead of just studying for the sake of your examinations.

--

--

Eshaan Sachdeva
Career Cafe

I'm a Second-Year student at the Indian Institute of Technology, Indore pursuing Btech in Electrical and Electronics Engineering.