Pranay Reddy

Ishikabhosale
Career Cafe
Published in
2 min readFeb 6, 2021

We bring you, Pranay Reddy! He graduated in 2020 in the discipline of Electrical Engineering. Read on to know more about his interview experience to get into L&T.

Photo by ThisisEngineering RAEng on Unsplash

Hello, I am Pranay. I graduated from IIT Indore in the electrical engineering department in the year 2020. Like any other IITians, joining prestigious IIT was my dream, and I was happy that I could get into IIT in my first attempt. Life in IIT Indore is something very different from what I expected to be. During school days, there was someone who always pushed me or guided me for everything. College is the first place where we develop our self-thinking and make crucial decisions on our own. In my opinion, only the students who are vigilant and make their own decisions can see success.

I was selected as an electrical engineer for L&T constructions in their on-campus placement drive held somewhere around November 2019. One month ago, there was also a presentation from them, and they hired from various departments of Electrical, Mechanical and Civil. There were two rounds for the selection process. First-round was an aptitude based online test. Few people were shortlisted from the test for the second round, which was a personal interview. The interview was conducted online. My interview went on for 15–20 minutes. I was asked a fair amount of technical questions based on the core electrical subject knowledge, notably Electrical Machines and Power Systems. There was also a general HR round with the same interviewer at the end, for which I was asked to speak about a general topic for a few minutes.

The most important thing all the electrical students should note is that the electrical domain jobs are significantly less than the computer domain. So, students those who are very much interested in good packages and those who have good coding skills should choose their career wisely. And the students who are passionate to work in the electrical domain should work much harder as the number of opportunities is less. Higher studies are always a good option for electrical guys, as many companies prefer to hire post-graduate candidates.

--

--