Shubhanshu Bajaj

Anjali_Singhal
Career Cafe
Published in
2 min readDec 19, 2020

We bring you Shubhanshu Bajaj!!! He graduated in 2016 in the discipline of Electrical Engineering. Read on to know more about the razzmatazz from an electrical engineer to a IIM Calcutta graduate.

How was your college life ?

To be the Fourth Batch to pass out of IIT Indore is one of the proudest moments of my life. Silver Springs Hostel and the PALC campus are two of the fond places that I remember as part of my college life. I made friends and created memories with them that I will cherish for a lifetime. I remember the day when I participated in the Robotics Club competition in my first semester, made my first robot from scratch. This still gives me goosebumps.

What are you doing presently?

I am currently working with Flipkart (Bangalore Office) as Business Development Manager. My day to day work involves getting more business for the company by on-boarding more brands/sellers to transact through the Flipkart Platform.

What inspired you to dive into this specific field?

I was always analytical and liked Mathematics. Adding to that, my interest in financial markets made me dive into looking at the business side of companies and not just at the technological products that the companies come up with. I used to surf a lot of stuff about how a company works and what made only a few successful. I then understood, doing an MBA will help me have a competitive advantage over others and pursue my interest in working in a position I’d like to work in. Negotiation skills and problem-solving aptitude are must to work in my domain of work. I think the numbers you bring to the business when you close a deal is the most exciting part of my work. It gives me a sense of accomplishment and closure.

How did you prepare for the profile?

I passed out from IIM Calcutta after completing my MBA in 2020. I have learned all about business and management from IIM Calcutta. The brand name and the skills that I have picked from my Alma mater has given me the edge to compete in the corporate world.

Your message to those whose dreams resonate with your reality?

I would advise you to be consistent in your academics and try to up-skill yourself by getting involved in competitions and extra-curricular activities. This will help you to improve your hands-on skills needed in the practical worlds as well as help you improve your soft skills.

Summing up

Aim High & Never Settle!

--

--