5 Simple Tips That Made Me a Better Bartender

I choose the term ‘better’ instead of ‘successful’

Tamaki Nalika
Career Paths
5 min readMay 25, 2024

--

Photo of an author, taken by a lovely customer
Photo of an author, taken by a lovely customer

Success sounds very far away, yet becoming better is something that anyone can do in a matter of seconds. Despite my years of bartending experience, I have made the fastest progress in such a short time recently.

We’re not going to discuss how to make amazing drinks because we already know the answers to those questions. Instead, I’m going to discuss some topics that bartenders may have overlooked. I hope this post will serve as a helpful reminder for bartenders and bring individuals in other industries some further insight. I am so excited to share with you the things I wish I had known in my early 20s.

1. Be a good customer first

Photo by Jakub Dziubak on Unsplash
Photo by Jakub Dziubak on Unsplash

There are more articles discussing how to be a good bartender, but only a small percentage teach people how to be good customers.

Why does being a good customer make you a better bartender?

I used to go to local bars, shot bars, and nightclubs just to get drunk. Many of those bars were self-service since everyone was overworked and unconcerned about others. Experiencing a lot of bad services can make you frustrated because you don’t know what good service is so I broaden my observation by visiting an ideal bar to learn.

In a good bar, you should feel safe drinking alone. It allows me to drink slower and observe more. Finely selected bars not only to experience but also to generate new ideas. A decent service inspires thoughtfulness, trust, and relaxation. Visiting nice bars and restaurants allowed me to notice the distinctions and establish my own standards for the type of service I want to deliver.

2. A better bartender takes good care of themselves

Photo by Pablo Merchán Montes on Unsplash
Photo by Pablo Merchán Montes on Unsplash

A skilled bartender is one who can look out for both himself and their customers. Working late hours and dealing with large groups of people is exhausting. If you do not prioritise your well-being, you will quickly become burned out. Your ability to perform better and take on more challenges as a bartender increases when you are in good mental and physical health.

Brains function better when they’re rested and relaxed. If you find yourself frequently upset, it may be an indication that you need to take a break. It is important to rest when you can.

The best work ethic requires a good rest ethic.

3. Take Notes

Photo by Marcos Paulo Prado on Unsplash
Photo by Marcos Paulo Prado on Unsplash

How a person takes notes defines everything. I take notes not only for myself but for others too. Absorb what is useful and discard what is useless is how I remind myself. My memory can only hold so much information before it starts to drive me insane.

Taking notes saved some of my energy and helped reduce my anxiety because I knew where to find the information when I forgot.

After a while, my notes became very helpful to new staff, and it reduced the burden of training new people by sharing my notes with them.

4. Learn additional skills to advance a career

Photo by Calum Lewis on Unsplash
Photo by Calum Lewis on Unsplash

The idea is that anyone can become a bartender since there is no educational background required which makes people with little or no experience are particularly welcome. This job is easy to start but hard to stand out. It calls for extensive, in-depth work, different sets of input, and a lot of self-study.

When I had the opportunity, I would always make time to improve other skills that I found enjoyable. I love languages; therefore, I study different languages and cultures to better understand and connect with my customers.

Another hobby of mine is cooking. There are so many skills of cooking that are adaptable to bartending techniques. There is no wonder why being a better chef makes you a better bartender.

Recently, I also been spending some time on Canva developing posters to promote events, menus, seminar presentations, and so on. The more I do it, the easier it gets.

To become good at something, you need other skills to enhance your best skill too.

I always keep in mind to spend more time on my value. For example, I value adventure, learning, and excellence. Therefore my key to progress is If it’s not relevant, then it’s noise. If it’s not accurate, it doesn’t help. Each new day gives me plenty of opportunities to master my craft and take things to the next level.

5. Mark my way up

Photo by Matt Foxx on Unsplash
Photo by Matt Foxx on Unsplash

In the past, I was lost and unsure of who I was. I resolved to take the initial step in the direction of what felt right and see where it took me. I always keep one eye on my responsibilities and another on stepping up. I’ve made a list of the skills I need to get to the next level. And my most important piece of advice is to do it right now.

With a clear route and destination, you know exactly where you are and where you want to go.

The backbone of a high-performance mindset is the ability to focus on the present moment. I know where am I, what I want, and what I do not want. I let my enthusiasm shine through. Knowing your direction, as well as your strengths and weaknesses, helps you better understand yourself and what you should work on.

Photo of an author (Left) as a guest bartender in Hongkong
Photo of an author (Left) as a guest bartender in Hongkong

Although bartending may not be for everyone but I always recommend people to try it at least once in their lives. It will undoubtedly drive you crazy at times but what I am certain is this experience develops confidence, character, vigilance, patience, and teamwork and teaches you life skills that no other profession can.

There are many more details than the five main points I have discussed. I am working on upscaling the hospitality service industry and I will contribute further details in my next articles. Let’s stay in touch and stay tuned.

Cheers!

--

--

Tamaki Nalika
Career Paths

The therapist of hospitality world. Raise awareness of being a good customer and a good bartender. Get stronger together !