How to Accumulate Domain Knowledge Like a Senior Engineer

Understanding domain knowledge is critical to the project’s success.

Edward Huang
Career Paths

--

Image by Author: DALL-E described the importance of domain knowledgedge

For the very first time in my team, I was the one who had the most opinions about the new feature that was created by the other members of the other team.

It is crazy how much knowledge and opinion I have,” I thought.

After being told to be more opinionated as feedback for the longest time, I was finally susceptible to voicing my opinion during a product requirement meeting.

After that meeting, I was complimented and tagged for being the SME (Subject matter expert) of that product feature.

“This is what happened when I was staying in the company too long,” — I half-jokingly replied.

“That is because you have accumulated domain knowledge,” one of the managers said.

“Thus, the more domain knowledge you have, the more impactful you are as a team member because they often see you as the leader of that feature.”

Domain knowledge is the other half of becoming a strong engineering leader because understanding the domain knowledge well makes a project successful.

What is Domain Knowledge

--

--