Struggles That Unite New Managers and How To Overcome Them

I wish I knew these tips when I led my first team

Bobby Powers
Career Paths

--

Two women sitting across a table, talking to each other
Image Credit: Christina @ wocintechchat.com

I first became a manager in 2011. I was put in charge of a 50-person logistics team and given the keys to a retail kingdom that generated $20 million in revenue per year. (Translation: Target hired me as an Assistant Store Manager.)

I had graduated from business school with my MBA, which meant that I was supposed to know what I was doing. But in reality, I was pretty lost.

Target expected me to lead a motley crew of 16-year-olds working their first job and 65-year-olds working their last job before retirement. Neither group had any reason to respect me, and I had zero street cred in retail.

Within hours of setting foot in the store, I realized I was in over my head.

The mid-level managers in the store questioned why the company would entrust the second-in-command role to a 23-year-old kid instead of letting them move into the role. (And to be honest, I wondered the same thing.)

My MBA courses had prepared me to analyze balance sheets, opine on case studies, and give entrepreneurial pitches that could potentially woo a venture capitalist, but it had not prepared me for the eventuality of leading a team of blood-and-flesh humans making $8…

--

--

Bobby Powers
Career Paths

Voracious reader | Writes about Leadership, Books, and Productivity | 1M+ views across 15+ publications & magazines | Visit me at BobbyPowers.net