I Paid $3,000 for Career Coaching. This 1 Tip Paid Me a 1000% ROI

How would you like to spend $3,000 this year to make $30,000 more salary next year?

Dr. Derek Austin 🥳
Career Programming

--

6 rabbits is a lot of rabbits, but try to imagine 1,000 eager job applicants. Photo by Aswathy N on Unsplash

If you’ve never tried career coaching, you may imagine all sorts of awful things about the process:

  • It’s too expensive.
  • It’s a scam.
  • It won’t help.
  • I don’t need it.
  • What even is a career coach?

Yeah, I had many of those same doubts back in 2021, but I just so-happened to catch a talk by Harvard MBA Mark Langford.

I’m not impressed by flashy big name schools (or former employers), but Mark has made a business out of career coaching for more than a decade.

I thought, if he can actually make a viable business to replace his VP-level income as a coaching entrepreneur, then Mark must know his $@#!.

I was at a point in my career where my technical skills were fantastic and up to date, but I wasn’t getting anywhere in finding full-time, remote work.

I figured that if career coaching could help me land one of the jobs I knew I was qualified for, then it would be worth however much it cost, or I would be screwed. One or the other had to happen, so I…

--

--

Dr. Derek Austin 🥳
Career Programming

I write about real-world programming career advice, MongoDB vs. PostgreSQL, Git, React, JavaScript, VS Code, TypeScript, and Next.js. Doctor of Physical Therapy