Doing It On Purpose

Genola Johnson
Career Relaunch
Published in
3 min readSep 30, 2019

I want something. I want a lot of things. But there’s one thing I do know, not taking action, any action, I’m not going to get those things.

Often people wake up on a Monday morning, any Monday morning, and realize they are in the wrong job. They get a pain in their stomach and lay there trying to figure out what legitimate excuse they can conjure up to not go in THAT day, days, weeks, you get the picture.

I know, I’ve been there and I REFUSE to go back. To prevent this from ever happening to me again, I made a plan, although flexible, I made a plan with some non-negotiables.

When making my plan, I knew two things, some things will take time, and some things I think will take time will not, depending on where I am in my level of receiving frequency.

With that being said, here’s my plan:

  1. Decide what I REALLY want. Write it down.
  2. Decide nothing is going to stop me.
  3. Refer back to step 1.

The way the plan will play out, well, that depends on how level my feelings are toward what I want. I deliberately decide what to listen to, who to speak to, who to avoid.

I’m on a mission. I don’t have time to sit around chewing the fat on something that is insignificant to me, I can’t change or even want to change. I avoid complainers and how often I watch the news. Because if I allow those things into my world, well, it will just slow me down and I don’t have time to waste. I want to be on with my wonderful journey of getting what I want.

To get a holistic view, you might consider hiring a coach. Whether it’s for your life, business, etc. Hiring a coach will help you map out areas that are hidden by you, because you’re in the mix of it all and can’t see the other side, where your coach can view your moves from a different perspective.

You think, damn, that’s gonna cost me, well, it might. Actually, it will cost you, but how bad do you want it? For me, I wanted it, I figured out a way to make the money I’ll need to hire a coach. If you’re not sure what hiring a coach sounds like, check out my podcast, “Joyful Empowerment Coaching ft. Sara Joy Madsen.”

Extra hours, extra clients, whatever I needed to do, I’m doing it because this NOW right now is not where I plan to be 365 days from now.

Be open-minded in your approach to all of it. The plan, the journey, just be open-minded. Because, most likely, it will not turn out like you planned it would, especially the journey. There will be hills, curves, drop-offs, but that’s okay. That’s life.

One thing to keep in mind, stay focused. Not sure how to start your plan? Download my “First Steps To Finding Your Purpose” template to help you consider what your plan will be.

--

--

Genola Johnson
Career Relaunch

GEBJohnson.com | Creating Purposeful Professions | Lover of Antique Cars | Purpose Download Here https://bit.ly/2MONccB