How to start freelancing when you have a full-time job

Annie Maguire
Career Relaunch
Published in
16 min readFeb 9, 2019

When you work a full-time job, becoming a freelancer can feel like a giant leap into the unknown.

There’s all these questions like…

How do I get started?

How do I find clients?

Do I need a portfolio?

What should I charge?

Should I quit my job?

And so on.

This can feel very overwhelming, especially if you don’t have any freelance friends you can turn to for advice and guidance.

Back in 2015, that’s exactly what I was struggling with.

I had a full-time job at an advertising agency, but I was miserable.

The long hours, high-pressure deadlines, and toxic work environment had completely burned me out. I was looking for a “way out” and I thought freelancing might be the escape route I needed.

But as a young copywriter living in an expensive city, I knew quitting my job without savings or a backup plan simply wasn’t an option.

But I also didn’t know what to “do next.”

I only had one friend who was a freelancer, and while she did have some good advice, it wasn’t like she could hold my hand through the process (which, I’ll admit, is kind of what I wanted).

So without a hand to hold, it was up to me to “figure it out” and the best way to do that, without losing the safety net of my job, was to start freelancing before I quit my job.

Start freelancing BEFORE you quit your job

To make the transition from full-time to freelance as smooth as possible, you MUST begin freelancing on the side while you still have a full-time job.

Taking this one key step is important for the following reasons:

  1. You’re protected

You get the freedom to test the waters while you still have the safety net of a full-time job and a steady paycheck.

2. You can build up your network

When you have a solid base of clients, you have people you can turn to for more work or quality referrals when your full-time paycheck dries up.

3. You can save money (and pay off debt)

Making extra money on the side means you can save on top of your full-time salary and/or pay off any debt you may have. Plus, having money saved up will give you a sense of confidence, like you control your destiny, not your boss.

I know it sounds hard, but trust me, when you experience your first dry-spell, you’ll be happy you have money to pay your bills, buy groceries, and live without worry.

Okay that covers the most crucial step in the process, but before we move on, there’s a few things I’d like you to keep in mind…

Set a deadline

The majority of people who become freelancers do so because they have a strong desire to quit their jobs and work on their own terms.

If this sounds like you (and I’m sure it does), you’ll want to set a deadline for when you’d like to tell your boss to f*ck off (in a polite way, of course).

For me, it took about a year of freelancing on the side before I was ready to quit my full-time gig.

But this was not an arbitrary decision. I knew I needed about a year to build up my network, get experience, save extra money, and pay off my credit card debt.

But keep in mind, your deadline may be different.

It all depends on your experience level, your portfolio, your financial situation, your network, and how ready you feel to make the switch.

You don’t have to rush, but you also don’t want to spend the next five years working two different jobs, so pick a reasonable deadline (probably 6–24 months) and try to stick with it.

Having a deadline will also force you to start making moves faster, whether that’s finding your first gig, building a portfolio, paying off debts, or whatever it is you need to prepare.

Take things slow

Taking on too many projects at once, especially in the beginning, is only going to overwhelm you and possibly taint your ideas of what freelancing really is.

Plus, if you take a very demanding gig, it may distract you from your full-time job, which could result in you getting fired (and you definitely don’t want that…yet).

So to start, accept only one new project that’s short-term and not too demanding on your mind or schedule (for example, a gig that only requires you to work on the weekend).

Once you get your bearings, you’ll feel more confident and you can start taking on more projects.

Be clear about your availability

Be upfront with clients and explain that while you have a full-time job, you often freelance on the side, and will have no problem delivering work on the schedule you provide.

Also, be sure to make it clear that you’re NOT available during regular working hours, but you ARE free before 9AM, after 5PM, or whenever works best for you.

This will help set expectations upfront, so you don’t feel distracted at work and they’re not wondering why you’re not answering their emails at 10AM.

Be prepared to work mornings, nights, and weekends

Building a business (yes, that’s what you’re doing) is hard work.

Sometimes that means waking up early before your “real job” to get a deliverable done or staying up late to answer emails.

It’s a sacrifice, sure, but it’s a short-term sacrifice.

Remember, if you’re following my advice, you’ve set a deadline for yourself, so you know exactly when the “hard part” will be over.

This way, when you’re up at 6AM doing work for your freelance clients, you can tell yourself: “I only have to do this for ___ more months. It’s not forever” (and trust me, that helps).

Okay, now that you’re primed on the basics, let’s get into the steps you’ll need to take in order to make the leap from full-time employee to full-time freelancer.

Step 1: Build a portfolio (…maybe)

Some people say you don’t need a portfolio, while others will tell you it’s the most important thing.

I can’t tell you what works for everyone, but I can tell you this:

When I was starting out, I found clients in two ways:

#1: Cold emailing

#2: Referrals from my network

Without exception, the people I cold-emailed always wanted to see my portfolio.

After all, they didn’t know me from a hole in the ground, so the only way they could evaluate whether or not I was worth a reply was by browsing through my work.

The referrals, on the other hand, almost never asked to see my portfolio. They trusted the referral sources that gave them my name and believed I would deliver good work (without needing proof).

Now let’s shift perspectives momentarily…

Last year, I needed to hire two different freelancers.

First, I needed a copywriter, but I didn’t know anyone I could hire. This meant I had to hire a stranger, and for that reason, I was laser-focused on seeing the portfolio.

Second, I needed a developer. Thankfully, I had a friend who referred me to someone he had worked with before. I never asked to see his portfolio because I trusted my friend.

The point is this: yes, you can get work without a portfolio. But it never hurts to have it in your back pocket, especially if you don’t have a big network and need to rely more on cold emailing.

If you don’t yet have a website or portfolio, I’d recommend building your own with Squarespace or a Wordpress theme (personally, I prefer Wordpress).

Unless you have oodles of cash, don’t waste your money hiring a designer or a developer.

If you have a little time and patience, you can easily build a very professional-looking site with my guide here.

What to put in your portfolio

If you’re more experienced, you probably have some ideas of what you could put into your portfolio, like samples of successful projects, case studies, client testimonials, and more.

If this sounds like you, check out my portfolio here. It’s full of logos, case studies, and testimonials. This may give you some inspiration.

For more specific inspo, do a quick google search with keywords that pertain to you (i.e. — “Designer portfolios” or “Interior design portfolio” or whatever makes sense).

If you’re more green (meaning inexperienced), here are some suggestions for how you may want to get started:

Create some original work

You’re smart and creative, so why not create some of your own work to show off? If you’re a writer, write blog content, an eBook, or do a teardown for an existing website.

If you’re a designer, throw up some original artwork or create some ad concepts for the brands you admire. Create an Instagram and start sharing original photography or curating other imagery that fits your aesthetic.

If you’re a developer, code up a simple website or create something that showcases your expertise (or something you’re passionate about).

You get the idea…

Offer to work for friends and family

Your family and friends want you to succeed. They’ve also seen your work ethic, abilities, and whatever skills you may have. And most importantly: they trust you.

This means they’re more likely to hire you for a small project or refer you to someone they know.

But you have to ask!

Send an email to your personal network letting them know that you’re trying to break into freelancing and would love the opportunity to work with them or anyone they know. You can even offer a discounted rate (or some kind of incentive) in exchange for work or referrals.

Partner with someone who complements your skills

You don’t have to go it alone. Try reaching out to the people in your network (or cold-emailing) other professionals whose skills complement your own.

For example, as a copywriter, I try to partner with freelance designers, developers, or agencies, as these folks have access to clients and often need a writer for their various projects.

Simply send an email (or LinkedIn request) introducing yourself.

Tell them a bit about you, the skills you can offer, and why you think you’ll be a great partner for them. If you make it about them and how they’ll benefit from working with you, I guarantee you’ll get more replies.

Spec work

Normally, I wouldn’t recommend ever doing spec work (you can read my thoughts on spec work here), but if you’re really struggling to land paying projects and you’ve exhausted all of your options, it may be something to consider.

If you’re not familiar, spec work is basically working for free. Think of it like a trade: the client gets quality work for free, while you get the experience and samples for your portfolio.

Again, I would highly recommend you try and create some original work for yourself before doing spec work, but sometimes having a few logos or a strong case study on your site can make all the difference in the world.

To recap: there are many ways to get clients. Some require a portfolio (cold emailing, event networking, etc), while other ways may not (referrals).

It’s up to you to figure out which strategies will work best for you and adapt accordingly.

Alright, by now, you should know what to do when it comes to your portfolio. Let’s move on to

Step 2: Finding clients!

Step 2: Find clients

Four years into my freelancing career, my business is almost entirely referral-based.

This means people I know (or clients I have worked with in the past) often connect me to people in their networks who need copy help.

In my opinion, a referral-based business is what you want to aim for, BUT, when you’re first starting out, this may feel slightly out of reach.

This is why I used a “dual” approach when I was first starting out. I sent cold emails to potential clients and I asked my network for leads.

Cold emailing

To begin, I made a list of advertising agencies in New York I wanted to work with.

I did this by conducting a simple Google search using terms like “advertising agency nyc” and made a spreadsheet of the names, URLs, contact info, and something about each one that caught my eye.

Next, I sent a personalized email to each shop explaining who I was, what I was looking for, how I could help them, and the kind of work I did (I included a link to my portfolio, which was crucial in getting responses).

From that initial batch of emails, I got a bunch of responses, but more importantly, I got TWO paying clients!

Almost four years later, one of those contacts is STILL a paying client (I’m literally working on two projects with her right now) and the other also became a repeat client.

The point is, with the right approach, cold emailing can absolutely work (and it can really pay off), so don’t put up mental barriers like “cold emailing doesn’t work” or “no one will respond.”

In fact, I just sent a big batch of cold emails to some agencies and other freelancers and the response rate was amazing. I’ve already had several calls and in-person meetings, which may turn into business in the future.

To save time and headache (let’s be real, cold-emailing can be monotonous), try an email software like mixmax, which allows you to create templates and track who opens, clicks, etc.

If you need to find contact information, I recommend rocketreach, which allows you to find the email addresses of just about anyone.

Referrals

Even if you’re just starting out, you can still get referrals.

As I mentioned above, start with your personal and professional networks. Send an email to each group explaining that you’re interesting in becoming a freelancer and would love to work with them or anyone they know.

Offer incentives for referrals (i.e. — a discounted rate, small kickback, special gift, etc) or offer to return the “referral favor” in the future.

If you don’t get any initial bites, be patient. You’re planting seeds and it takes time for those seeds to grow.

When I first started, I got a lead from my brother-in-law. I got leads from my boyfriend. I got leads from friends. And I got leads from old coworkers. While they didn’t all pan out, many did.

They key is letting people know that you’re interested and available.

Nowadays, I send one of those “reminder” emails once a quarter, so I stay top-of-mind and continuously remind people that I’m always looking for new work (even when you’re fully booked, as you can secure work for future dates).

Event networking

Out of all the years I’ve been a freelancer, I’ve only attended a handful of events, but from those events, I’ve gotten two paying clients.

This may not seem like a lot, but here’s the thing: one of those clients is my #1 client.

He is the best to work with. He pays on time. And he’s paid me a lot of money. Plus, we’ve been working together for a long time…all from ONE event I attended over two years ago.

The point is, you’ve got to put yourself out there, IRL!

I know networking sounds like the worst thing ever. Trust me, there’s nothing I hate more than walking up to strangers and striking up a conversation. But. It. Works.

And like Mr. Wonderful on Shark Tank, I like tactics that make me money, so I do my best to attend at least 3–5 events per year (sometimes more if I have time).

To stay on top of events, I have a running list of all of the important events related to my industry and in my area. Every January, I revisit this list and search for new events to attend for the year.

To find events, try looking on Eventbrite or Meetup. There’s often tons of networking events or educational events that may attract the kind of people you want to work with.

One word of advice: I know it’s tempting to go to all the free events, but I’ve found that the cost of the ticket is correlated with the quality of the leads.

For example, a $20 event will likely connect you with clients with smaller budgets. But a $799+ event will likely land you the bigger fish.

But let’s be realistic: at this stage, you’re just looking to network, so attending the free, $10 or $20 events is a great place to start (don’t forget your business cards!).

Job sites

As a freelancer, I really don’t recommend sites like Upwork and Fiverr, as I believe they take advantage of creatives.

These sites attract people and businesses who are looking for high-quality work fast and on the cheap. They often don’t care about the value you’re bringing to the table, they just want their project done fast and for as little money as possible.

But, if you’re just starting out and have a very limited network, these sites may be your best way to break in.

Plus, it’s just a temporary solution. Once you’ve got some work in your book, you can step back from these sites and start attracting clients on your own.

Social media (I recommend LinkedIn, but use what works for you!)

Depending on what you’re selling, Instagram, Twitter, or Facebook may be a great way for you to promote your work and find clients.

Even if you’re not a content creator, you can always post to let your audience know that you’re looking for work.

Out of all the networks, LinkedIn has helped me land at least one paying client.

In the beginning of my freelance career, I would share articles and promote the products I was selling, like my online course, branding questionnaire, or eBooks on the reg (yep, I should probably start doing that again).

This caught the attention of someone I knew who worked at a prominent cosmetics company, which resulted in a multi-month gig and about $5000 worth of work.

So don’t be shy about promoting yourself, your work, or your business. It may impress the right person, which could lead to a big pay day for you.

Blogging

This is really a long-term strategy, but it never hurts to have samples of your work, approach, or perspective handy.

Personally, I have only ever landed one paying client from blog content and he had a very small budget and it didn’t evolve into on-going work.

But that’s just my experience. I know there are freelancers out there who frequently write high-quality content that attracts premium leads.

Just know, blogging may not help you to get clients today, but it may land you clients down the road.

Organic search

Similar to blogging, organic search is more of a long-term strategy.

While it can take some time, research, and experimentation to get this right, when it works, the clients will start coming in.

Personally, I get a lot of low-quality leads from search, BUT, I also got two amazing clients from search last year, both of whom became long-term clients.

Together, those two clients have paid me close to $35,000, which is pretty good, considering I did no active work to find them. They simply found my site and reached out.

Again, this means you need a website (which if you follow Step 1, you should have) and you need to have the right keywords in the right places.

I’d recommend doing a little googling to learn more about SEO. There’s a ton of great resources out there, like this guide.

Alright, by this point, you’ve got some solid ideas on how to find leads. Let’s move on to Step 3: MONEY!

Step 3: Save & clear your debts (if you can)

Remember that freelance friend I mentioned at the beginning of the article?

When I asked her for advice early on, the first thing she told me was to pay off all of my debt.

At the time, I had some credit card debt, but paying it off wasn’t something I could do overnight (and I really wanted to quit my job!).

So naturally, I tried to fight her on it. But she insisted, and so, I followed her advice. On top of paying off my debt, I was also able to save money (several thousand, in fact), which made me feel more confident when it came time to quit my job.

Not only that, but when I experienced my first “freelance dryspell” (meaning work was slow), I was still able to pay my rent and eat. Sure, I was freaked out, but at least I had a place to live and peanut butter to sustain me.

Now, I understand that everyone has different financial situations and paying off all of your debt in 6 months (or whatever) isn’t realistic.

If this applies to you, simply take this advice with a grain of salt and adapt accordingly to fit your specific situation. Personally, I wouldn’t let debt stop me from ever becoming a freelancer, but that’s a decision you have to make for yourself.

Step 4: Quit your job

Once you’ve completed Steps 1–3, you should be in a good place to quit your job.

To recap, you should have the following done before you put in your two weeks:

✓ Your website / portfolio in a good place

✓ A solid group of clients you can rely on for more work or quality referrals

✓ Paid off your debts and saved some money

✓ Put the word out to all of your networks that you’re available and looking for work

Outside of this list, you also need two other intangibles: confidence and conviction.

Confidence & conviction

As soon as you tell people that you’re quitting your job to become a freelancer, they’ll try to talk you out of it.

They’ll tell you you’re crazy and leaving a job with a steady paycheck and benefits is the worst thing you can do.

But this is not the time to be wavering.

You must believe, with every fiber of your being, that this is the right decision, at the right time, for you. Otherwise, those doubts from other people will begin to seep in and before you know it, you’ll be stuck at your job for another year (or longer).

So let the haters have their opinions, but stay strong on the inside. Believe in yourself and success will follow (yes, it’s corny, but it’s true).

Want to learn more about freelancing?

Check out my book, From Full-time to Freelance. It’s full of more advice like you’ve read in this article, plus, a bunch tactical tips on things like rates, taxes, health care, and more.

Either way, I’d love to know more about your story.

What has led you to this article? Have you been thinking about going freelance for a while or is this your first step toward freedom?

Leave your comments below!

Did you enjoy this article? Check out my eBook, From Full-time to Freelance to get tips on how to build your freelance biz! 👍

Want to get in touch? Comment below or reach out to me directly: annie1maguire@gmail.com.

--

--

Annie Maguire
Career Relaunch

Freelance Conversion Copywriter. Digital product creator. Aspiring comedy writer. This could get weird.