Lost In Your Career Field? Here’s How To Find Purpose

Eva Gutierrez 💡
Career Relaunch
Published in
3 min readFeb 4, 2020
Photo by Adeolu Eletu on Unsplash

It’s important to realize that you are not the only one lost. In fact, the majority of people you meet have absolutely no idea what they want to do with their career.

I know this because I’ve been asking people, “What is your dream job?” for a year.

Nine out of ten people that I ask have no answer. They have no clue what they would love to do with their career.

That being said, there is a way to sidetrack the norm and become the 10% that can answer that question confidently.

It’s free, it’s simple and you can start today.

Everyday, you have to do something that you love to do.

Forget trying to create an end goal, just focus on that one day and do something that makes you happy.

When I first started, my “one thing” would be something really simple. I’d drink a smoothie, have a good work out, or hang out with friends. It didn’t seem to be leading me anywhere but I knew that I was on the right track.

About a week and a half in to this new habit, my “one thing” was becoming a habit. I was going to do it whether I was under obligation or not. So I moved on.

I had to start getting more creative with my “one thing”. I opened a word document and started writing every single day because it made me happy.

One day I decided it was time to start a blog to put my writing on. The thought of publishing my writing made me happy.

From my blog I realized that I would need to market it through social media and writing platforms. I loved the marketing aspect of blogging and knew the challenge of this backend work would make me happy.

I figured if I was going to be writing online, I should try to get paid for it. What could be cooler than getting paid to write? That would make me happy.

I started to put efforts into becoming a better writer. I opened an Upwork account and started applying to writing jobs. With a few jobs under my belt, I realized that I could write from anywhere in the world as long as I had a wifi connection.

Working from coffee shops made me so happy.

I quit my waitressing job and started to plan my backpacking trip. Buying a backpack and selling everything that I owned, made me happy.

I bought a one way ticket to Costa Rica, that made me really happy.

Exploring the rice fields of Bali

I traveled for five months and started to realize what a blur it was all becoming. I picked up my camera and started to make videos about my travels. Creating these time capsules to chronicle my journey makes me happy.

I will never let go of this habit of doing one thing that I love to do everyday. I have found my passion for writing, travel and videography because of it.

It started with drinking smoothies and as of now has taken me to ten new countries in six months. I make a living writing online and passionately make videos about the journey.

Don’t over complicate life. Do what makes you happy and you will become happy.

Most importantly, remember that you are not alone.

--

--

Eva Gutierrez 💡
Career Relaunch

Weekly thought exercises inspired by mental models, psychology principles, and questions from successful entrepreneurs. ➡️ ThinkWithAI.com