The Change

Genola Johnson
Career Relaunch
Published in
3 min readFeb 2, 2020

I’ve got a co-worker who’s going through the big change. Not biologically, but career wise. He’s in a profession where he’s gotten his bachelor’s degree in, and now wants to change after about 15 years in the profession.

This is not uncommon. This is actually a very natural phenomena. You wake up one morning and decide I can’t do this anymore. For some it could be being told to do one more dumb repetitive thing and then decide, this is enough.

You evaluate whether you are receiving job satisfaction or are you just pissed off with being told to do something that you know doesn’t make any sense. Regardless, for you to finally say something, you’ve been thinking ‘something’ for a while.

So how do you solve this problem? Easy, Know thyself. Well, actually, that’s the hard part. Even as a career change consultant, I have questions. But there’s one thing that I do know. You really do need to know yourself.

Some people I work with say, “Well, I’m not sure what I want to do.” “I have no idea.” This might be true, but there’s one thing you do know. You know what you don’t want. You do know the type of lifestyle you are seeking.

It is so easy to change careers now.

For me, it was flexibility, freedom, short commutes, work with many different types of people and just plain helping people.

You also know whether you want to work full-time, part-time or contract work. You know whether you want to be self-employed or an employee or both. Yes, it’s possible to do both!

You also have a lot of transferable skills that can be used in your new career.

Regardless of what you choose, if you need training. Figure out what type of training you will need to get where you want. For me, I’m leaning more and more toward coding. I know this will help me in my future professional career opportunities, whether consulting or as a contractor.

It is so easy to change careers now. There’s so much available online that the opportunities are endless. Some may start off as free or low cost, but there is training available for you.

You also have a lot of transferable skills that can be used in your new career. You may have hard skills such as electrical programming. But if you were an electrical programmer managing a team, you also have developed many soft skills too.

Remember, many people change careers. Some between 3–7 times in the span of their careers. This is okay. It’s not the end of the world to even change in a complete direction.

I once worked with a teacher who previously worked in the funeral industry. THIS is a huge contrast.

Decide what you want your next 5–10 years to look like and make steps toward getting there.

Additional Articles:

-I Didn’t Know I Had That Skill

-7 Powerful Skills You Already Have When You Want To Change Careers

-3 Helpful Tips On Researching Your New Career Change

Genola Johnson MY WHY: To help passionate people craft profitable professions with the foundations of their life’s purpose. She lives with her husband and two super model daughters in Atlanta. You can find her on GEBJohnson.com and her podcast The GEBJohnson Podcast. Follow her on Twitter@gebjohnson.com or IG gebjohnson

--

--

Genola Johnson
Career Relaunch

GEBJohnson.com | Creating Purposeful Professions | Lover of Antique Cars | Purpose Download Here https://bit.ly/2MONccB