4 good cafes I found in Taipei, Taiwan

Takuya Matsuyama
Carefully Cut Corners
4 min readJul 2, 2019

It’s fun to walk around in Taipei because there are a lot of stylish cafes.

As I searched on the web, I found many cafes which look worth to visit but I couldn’t visit all of them within 5 days of my trip.

In this article, I’d like to share shops I visited in rank order.

Basically they speak English well, so that’s no problem if you don’t understand Chinese at all.

#4 ★★★☆☆ agnès b. CAFÉ

It’s located in a department store called Eslite Xinyi Store(誠品信義店).

It is usually full and you will need to wait but luckily there are many seats open. The interior looks like European-style. It was a little busy and not so cozy as it’s near the entrance of the department. They also have a shop in Taipei 101. They sell cute tumblers and cups and I thought they would be nice for a gift to girls.

#3 ★★★☆☆ Got Flavor Coffee

It is located near A MEI TEA HOUSE(九份阿妹茶樓), a famous tea house in Jiufen Old Street(九份老街). It looks interesting because the shop’s interior is very stylish and industrial while most shops in Jiufen look traditional and old. Quiet enough that it makes for a good place to take a break from the large crowds. I had a cup of latte while looking out people come and go from the store. It was little bit pricey for Taiwan standards.

#2 ★★★★☆ 好物 Spirit 咖啡

Quiet little place. The houseplants are placed nicely and that makes very relaxing. I had a weekend brunch. I saw a guy working with his laptop here. Very cozy.

#1 ★★★★★ 森高砂珈琲館 San Coffee

I like this is the best of the cafes I visited during this trip. It is about 3 minutes on foot from Dihua Street(迪化街). The building looks classic and cool. The shop has good vibes that let us be able to taste coffee slowly, which makes it very relaxing. It was mostly full because of its popularity. They serve Taiwan coffee. Looking around, I saw some people seems to be working on a laptop. The glass was beautiful and when I poured coffee, it shined brilliantly. Great exprience. I would go this cafe many times if I live in Taipei.

--

--

Takuya Matsuyama
Carefully Cut Corners

I’m an indie SaaS developer currently building a Markdown note-taking app called Inkdrop. https://www.inkdrop.app/ Homepage: https://www.craftz.dog/