5 My Best Comfy Cafés in Tokyo 2018!

My favorite cafes best for reading books and being lost in thought

Takuya Matsuyama
Carefully Cut Corners
2 min readDec 31, 2018

--

Hi, it’s Takuya here.

I love comfy cafés. I’m always searching for good cafés everywhere I visit. In this article, I would like to introduce my best 5 cafés, which are nice places for reading books and being lost in thought, that I found in 2018. I usually use Tabelog to find restaurants, which is like Yelp. I put links to Tabelog for each cafe. Hope it’s helpful for your trip to Tokyo!

1. fuzkue at Hatsu-dai

The owner made this cafe dedicatedly for spending time alone. It’s too comfy, so I got sleepy. Actually, someone was sleeping in a chair. Very nice atmosphere.

  • Tabelog
  • Address: 東京都渋谷区初台1–38–10 二名ビル 2F
  • Open: 12:00~24:00
  • No Smoking

2. Hummingbird Coffee at Gakugei-Daigaku

This small coffee shop slowly opens at 15:00. The owner also talks slowly and politely, poured me a cup of coffee. I love it. Interior decorations are so beautiful.

  • Tabelog
  • Address: 東京都目黒区鷹番2–15–22
  • Mon. — Wed. & Fri. 15:00-19:00, 20:00-24:00
  • Sat. & Sun. 13:00~23:00
  • Closed: Thursday
  • No Smoking

3. Nezimaki-Gumo at Kokubun-ji

It was hard to find because the building doesn’t look like a coffee shop but an ordinary house. I open the door, and find there is a kind space welcoming me in. I read the menu, which describes a story of each item — It’s like a novel. The owner talks me softly. I love how he works at this cafe.

  • Tabelog
  • Address: 東京都国分寺市東元町2–18–16 吉野ビル 104
  • Open: 14:00~22:00 (TBC)
  • Closed: Wed. & Thur.
  • No Smoking

4. Kurumi-do Coffee Shop at Kokubun-ji

There are many books in this coffee shop. It seems that it’s also a book store. I like this old-fashioned tables and chairs. A regular customer is talking with a clerk about coffee.

  • Tabelog
  • Address: 東京都国分寺市本町2–17–3
  • Sun. & Mon. 11:00–18:00
  • Tue., Wed., Fri. & Sat. 11:00–21:00
  • Closed: Thur
  • No Smoking

5. From afar at Higashi-Komagata

It was a warehouse, so you can see a tin roof and reinforcing bars. But it looks very cute and feels like stylish. People are almost girls enjoying chatting and reading books here. Clerks are very polite. You will love it.

  • Tabelog
  • Address: 東京都墨田区東駒形1–1–9
  • 12:00-19:00
  • Closed: Mon.
  • No Smoking

--

--

Takuya Matsuyama
Carefully Cut Corners

I’m an indie SaaS developer currently building a Markdown note-taking app called Inkdrop. https://www.inkdrop.app/ Homepage: https://www.craftz.dog/