Comfy cafes I found in Osaka in 2019

Takuya Matsuyama
Carefully Cut Corners
4 min readJan 12, 2020
Cafe Noto Coffee

Hi, it's Takuya. It’s been already more than 1 year since I moved from Tokyo to Osaka — my hometown. I visited a lot of cafes and I would like to share my best cafes I found in Osaka in this article.

Now I can see many good aspects of Osaka where I couldn’t see when I was young. I was feeling like Osaka is always less interesting than Tokyo. But no, it has nice places to visit and it’s comfortable to live because of its fewer population than Tokyo. On top of that, Osaka is located next to Kyoto. I stayed in Kyoto for 5 days and visited cafes while working last year and that was so fun:

Okay, so let’s get right into talking about comfy cafes I found last year which would be great for working and reading.

Ama-ne Coffee (雨音珈琲)

Starting off from the best cafe called Ama-ne coffee. “Amane” means sound of rain. To be honest, I wouldn’t tell you this cafe because I love it too much. Because its atmosphere is so comfortable. I close my eyes and feel it for a while after having a sip of a cup of coffee.

Taking photos, using laptops and chatting are prohibited here. That allows you to focus on reading a book or just to have a quiet time. I like to visit here when got stuck on something on my work or got tired.

  • Address: 〒540–0021 Osaka, Chuo Ward, Otedori, 2 Chome−2−4–7
  • Open: 12–17PM
  • Closed: Monday, Wednesday
  • No smoking
  • Cash only
  • https://amame.exblog.jp/

Eden Esaka

On a rainy day, in a gloomy afternoon — it is a great cafe to drop in. You can feel time slows down and forget busy days for a while. The foods are very good and it’s also nice to meet with your friends.

Brooklyn Roasting Company Namba

A cafe in Namba, great for working with a power source and WiFi.

  • Address: 1 Chome-1–21 Shikitsuhigashi, Naniwa Ward, Osaka
  • Open: 8AM-8PM
  • Closed: None
  • No smoking
  • Card OK

MONDIAL KAFFEE 328

Clerks are so friendly. People in this cafe look enjoying talking about their business and girl/boy friends.

marimba cafe

If you like antique interiors, I would recommend you this cafe. They serve delicious sweets.

  • Address: 1 Chome-18–18 Higashishinsaibashi, Chuo Ward, Osaka
  • Open: 11:30AM–11PM
  • Closed: None
  • Separate smoking area
  • Credit card OK

Hope it’s helpful for your stay in Osaka! :)

Follow me on Instagram:

--

--

Takuya Matsuyama
Carefully Cut Corners

I’m an indie SaaS developer currently building a Markdown note-taking app called Inkdrop. https://www.inkdrop.app/ Homepage: https://www.craftz.dog/