Digital Nomad in Kyoto, Day 5 (Final)

Takuya Matsuyama
Carefully Cut Corners
4 min readAug 2, 2019

The previous day:

It’s the final day of being a digital nomad in this travel. The staff of the guesthouse I stayed last night told me some nice cafes to go in Kyoto.

Cafe Yamaneko(山猫軒)

I went to one of the cafes she told me. It’s a quiet space with tasty sandwiches and nice atmosphere.

I researched about how to use SQLite3 FTS5 on React Native app on Android.

Ninna-ji (仁和寺)

It’s located a 15-min walk from that cafe.

Sarasa-Nishijin (さらさ西陣)

I moved back to Nishijin by bus. This cafe is interesting — the building was originally a public bath and they renovated it into a cafe after its owner passed away. The tiles of the bath are remained as they are. It looks like an ethnic design.

I wrote up a proposal of the next roadmap of Inkdrop here.

Doutor (a chain cafe)

My laptop is running out of the battery, so I went to a cafe which provides the outlets for charging.

Had a nice break!

Being a digital nomad in this week, I could go most of cafes that I wished to go in Kyoto. I’m so happy now. But there would be more interesting cafes in Kyoto. I would like to visit here again someday.

While enjoying cafes, I could make some good progress on my project. I can’t help that it takes some time and energy to check places and to move though.

I am getting less unexpected stimulations these days as I am solely working on my app without colleagues or business trips. That would be sometimes boring. I would like to take some chaos for my life by occasionally being a digital nomad somewhere.

--

--

Takuya Matsuyama
Carefully Cut Corners

I’m an indie SaaS developer currently building a Markdown note-taking app called Inkdrop. https://www.inkdrop.app/ Homepage: https://www.craftz.dog/