Digital nomad in Okinawa to escape from cedar pollen and Coronavirus

T&M COFFEE / BETTER GIRL / Staying at an Airbnb apartment in Maeda Cape in Onna-son / Had a snorkeling experience at Blue Cave

Takuya Matsuyama
Carefully Cut Corners
4 min readMar 12, 2020

--

Hi, it’s Takuya. I’m living in Osaka where a lot of pollen is in the air in this season (February ~ March). It is killing me 😷 Running an air cleaner didn’t help. So I decided to travel to Okinawa(沖縄) as a digital nomad for two weeks from March 2nd. Actually, I was planning to travel to the north Italy but decided not to go because of Coronavirus. It was a good decision — I would have not been able to get back to Japan now if I traveled there. On top of that, fortunately, it looks like Okinawa is safe from the virus reportedly where we got no infected people increased because it would be weak in the warm areas like Singapore and Thailand:

But the number of tourists has been significantly decreasing in Okinawa. We have to help each other to overcome this situation. What I can do here is just to enjoy staying and to share how great it was. Let’s go!

T&M COFFEE

This cafe was so cozy to do some work near the street called Kokusai-dori (国際通り).

BETTER GIRL

It’s a stylish cafe&restaurant. I love this place with a large table and a high ceiling.

Staying at an Airbnb apartment in Maeda Cape (真栄田岬) in Onna-son (恩納村)

It was the first time I use Airbnb. I was a little nervous to meet the host but he was kind. The stay was so great. Take a look at how I was working at the apartment:

I stayed here for a week:

The host was a bit surprised that I was alone :) How wonderful would be with my wife but she has her job in Osaka.

Had a snorkeling experience at Blue Cave (青の洞窟)

During the stay at the apartment, I had a break enjoying snorkeling at Blue Cave:

The diving instructor told me that he got 300 cancellations for Coronavirus. The experience was wonderful — he even took me to a secret cave where other instructors don’t know. Also surprised because his hometown is Osaka, too.

That’s it! It is a great place to spend as a digital nomad. I could make a good progress on my project :D I already fell in love with Okinawa. I moved to Naha(那覇) and am currently staying at a hotel. Thank you for reading this. See you in the next article. Peace.

Follow me online

--

--

Takuya Matsuyama
Carefully Cut Corners

I’m an indie SaaS developer currently building a Markdown note-taking app called Inkdrop. https://www.inkdrop.app/ Homepage: https://www.craftz.dog/