DIY: A Narrow Shelf for My Kitchen

Takuya Matsuyama
Carefully Cut Corners
3 min readMar 1, 2019

Hi, it’s Takuya here.

I’ve got a new refrigerator but there is a space between the refrigerator and the kitchen. Hmm, how can I use this small space? I measured it with my iPhone:

I’m planning to buy a dishwasher and it would be a good place to put it if I could extend the kitchen worktop. It will also be nice to store some foods and drinks underneath. But I couldn’t find any products that fit the exact height of the kitchen. So I decided to DIY it.

I went to a DIY store near my home while I don’t know what to buy and how to make because I rarely DIY. I borrowed some tools from my father and tried to assemble with some woods I bought. But I couldn’t easily make it..

I can’t move my hands because I don’t want to fail. So I decided to forgive myself to fail making it. That made me easy to move on. It reminds me how I felt when I was a beginner programmer. I never feared failures back then.

I finally assembled them. I guess there is some problem with its strength, and it has some cracks but I would ignore them for now. I will go to the DIY store again and buy more woods to repair.

This is how it looks. Not bad, isn’t it? I guess it won’t be broken easily because the both side support it.

I put a stainless plate on it because there is a sink next to it. Now I can put a dishwasher! Next step would be painting and making a blindfold for the storage.

I’ve learned a lot through this DIY. I don’t understand physical layer so much because I’ve been solely into software. It’s very fun if you understand hardware. I borrowed tools from my father today but I would like to buy tools for myself sometime in the future :)

--

--

Takuya Matsuyama
Carefully Cut Corners

I’m an indie SaaS developer currently building a Markdown note-taking app called Inkdrop. https://www.inkdrop.app/ Homepage: https://www.craftz.dog/