Photowalking with FUJIFILM X-E3 in the old towns of Germany

Takuya Matsuyama
Carefully Cut Corners
4 min readNov 20, 2019

Hi, it’s Takuya.

I’ve got back from our honeymoon in France and Germany. I visited multiple old cities in Germany. I hung out with my new camera with the following setup during the trip:

  • Body: FUJIFILM X-E3
  • Lens: XF56mmF1.2 R

As the lens is semitelephoto it was kind of hard to shoot meals and hotel rooms. But it let me take buildings very beautifully and solidly. Carrying it all day was heavy and my shoulder hurt. I hope my photos would be good examples of this camera setup, or would be helpful for planning your trip.

Towns I visited are:

  1. Heidelberg
  2. Würzburg
  3. Nürnberg
  4. München
  5. Füssen

I stayed one night at each town.

Heidelberg

Schloss Heidelberg
Vetter’s Alt Heidelberger Brauhaus
Bergbahn Heidelberg
A view from the castle
An alley
A restaurant of Kulturbrauerei Heidelberg AG

Würzburg

Pretty rooftops
Bürgerspital-Weinstuben’s cutlery
Würzburger Cathedral’s door
Lighting up a candle
Backöfele Restaurant
Restaurant & Weinhaus Stachel

I love the interiors of German restaurants so much. They are so beautiful..

Nürnberg

Maxbrücke
Nürnberger Hauptmarkt
Buildings
St. Lorenz Kirche Nürnberg
Baking sausages
Nürnberg Hbf

München

Tram
Haxnbauer im Scholastikahaus
Haxnbauer im Scholastikahaus
Schweinshaxe
Simple buildings
A woman
Colorful buildings
Theatinerstraße
Marienplatz

Füssen

Füssen Bahnhof
A carriage connecting between the castle and its foot
Luckily, we got on at the front seat of the carriage. But it was so cold!
Schloss Neuschwanstein
A view from the castle (taking photos of the interiors was prohibited)
A view from Central City Hotel
A cat who was so friendly with humans

My best of cities was Heidelberg!

--

--

Takuya Matsuyama
Carefully Cut Corners

I’m an indie SaaS developer currently building a Markdown note-taking app called Inkdrop. https://www.inkdrop.app/ Homepage: https://www.craftz.dog/